Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

A Very British Bobby

with 4 comments

Good Cop

Deputy Chief Constable Stuart Hyde of Cumbria Police is the sort of man I would want around when the chips are down.  He has done a magnificent job fronting Cumbria Police’s reaction to the Derrick Bird killings.  He’s not only done his employers proud.  He has been a great force for good and of comfort for the people of Cumbria and the nation as a whole.  He has been professional, calm, dignified, accurate, understanding – everything that we could possibly have wanted from him.  He is in the very highest traditions of the British police.

What a stark contrast from the out of control, lying, scheming thugs in the Metropolitan Police TSG, responsible for multiple assaults at the G20 and Gaza protests and the death of Ian Tomlinson.  Only last month, 30 years after the event, they finally admitted responsibility for the death of Blair Peach at the Anti-Nazi league protest in 1979.  How can there be such a contrast in the conduct and behaviour of our police officers?

I am sure that DCC Hyde still manages to fit in well with the canteen culture of the police.  The difference is he is obviously a fundamentally decent man.  He’s not from the sort of neo-Nazi, violent, fascist subset of the police that Sergeant Leroy Smellie and the rest of the TSG belong to.

When I first wrote about Smellie’s acquittal I came across Inspector Gadget, a blog written by a serving police inspector.  The memory of what I read there has stayed with me and it disturbs me greatly.  It offers an insight into the murkier corners of that canteen culture that should be rooted out and destroyed.  Just like the appalling, scandalous predominance of Masonic culture in the police, it astounds me that Inspector Gadget is allowed to continue his rantings and provide a forum for police officers whose attitudes prove they are unfit for the job.  Don’t anybody try to tell me that the true identity of Inspector Gadget can’t be established.  That would just be another police lie.

I cannot let it pass without calling yet again for charges to be brought against the TSG officer who was clearly seen to assualt Ian Tomlinson shortly before his death.

However, I want to end on a positive note and say, once again, how much I admire the conduct and professionalism of Deputy Chief Constable Hyde.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey thanks for stopping by my site and leaving a comment, you have a great site, I’m Jim

    dancingczars

    June 7, 2010 at 7:31 pm

  2. Your article concerning Deputy Chief Constable Stuart Hyde are spot on. I have had the opportunity to work with Mr Hyde for nearly 10 years during my time in the UK (first as an Assistant Legal Attache for the FBI at US Embassy London, and then as the Chief cyber Security Advisor for Microsoft Ltd UK). Though I have no knowledge of the matter relative to the Met Police, I can say with a certainty that Deputy Chief Stuart Hyde is a top professional and the residents of Cumbria, and the UK at large, can be proud to have him represent all that is good about the police.

    Ed Gibson

    June 8, 2010 at 2:38 am

  3. Hi there, I didn’t quite understand what you were implying on my Gun Ban post, could you come back and explain yourself please. P.s. I am a fellow, “boycott israeli products” protestor. X

    markusbrown

    June 10, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    • Derrick Bird was subject to a tax investigation. An hypothesis was that was the reason he carried out the killings. So what does it makes sense to ban: guns, tax investigations, anger, resentment, lunacy…????

      Do you see my point?

      Peter Reynolds

      June 10, 2010 at 10:27 pm


Leave a comment