Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Do Not Buy An ASUS Transformer Book.

leave a comment »

asus-transformer-book

I apologise for the technical jargon but there is only one way accurately to describe this product.

It’s crap.

In 36 years of buying and using personal computer technology, I have never suffered such frustration, inconvenience and real consequential losses because of an unreliable product.

When and if the power works properly it’s fine but it is so unpredictable that it is a nightmare.  I can never rely on it to power up when I need it, irrespective of its state of charge and it has caused me a real problem on several occasions.

On paper and the display shelf of PC World Currys in Weymouth it looked good.  I paid just over £150 for a small, neat laptop with Windows 10. The screen can be detached to form a tablet but that’s not what I bought it for and I have never used it that way.  Obviously, at its price and size, it has a lot of compromises which I was happy to accept.  It has just 2GB RAM, 30GB of disk space, one conventional USB port and no possibility of expansion.  That’s OK, I knew what I was buying.

asus-transformer-book-boxWhat I didn’t know was that it has a mind of its own when it comes to pressing the on button.  It doesn’t matter how long it’s been charging, you never know whether it will start or not.

The first one went back to PC World within a week.  They were great about it and didn’t quibble at all – but the replacement machine was exactly the same.

Of course, there is nothing in the pathetic paper manual provided, nor online at the ASUS website.  Only when you call the support line does it become obvious this is a well known problem.  The solution I am given is ridiculous and nearly six months on it doesn’t work consistently either.  The ‘fix’ is to take the power cable out, hold the power key down for 30 seconds, replace the power cable and press the power key once.  Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn’t.  Sometimes it sorts of half boots up but then hangs.  Sometimes you can’t even shut it down.  To use another technical expression, it is a pain in the arse.

On several occasions I have needed to fire it up urgently to post something or deal with a problem while I’m travelling and it just hasn’t happened, whether it’s just been charged or not.  I’ve had to find a power socket and then mess around for up to a half and hour before it will finally work.

I’m told by my friends who have been suckered into buying Apple iPhones that they don’t work without an initial charge. Apparently, if the battery’s flat you have give it 15 minutes before it will switch on.  That’s what you get for buying technology for fashion rather than function.  I’ve never had a phone that won’t run straight off the power supply.  My Sony Xperia Z3 does so perfectly.

We all know that the real cost of buying technology is not the initial capital purchase cost but the time you have to invest to get it working.  On that basis I have put thousands into this machine and it keeps letting me down.  One day, some technology company is going to get sued for the consequential losses its faulty or badly designed product has caused.  Perhaps then these companies will get serious about serving customers instead of using us, at our expense, for their new product development and testing.

I’ve invested too much in this now and I just have to adapt to its shortcomings.  If it worked as it should it would be a great product – but it doesn’t, so don’t buy one!

Written by Peter Reynolds

September 25, 2016 at 11:48 am

Leave a Reply

