Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

My Baby Boy, Capone, Is Dying.

with 2 comments

Classic 1Never has there been a more faithful friend.

Capone is only nine, going on 10 but I know that his time is approaching quickly, far too fast for me.

He saved me when I escaped London from a woman and a destructive lifestyle.  We used to walk five miles every day – at least.  Now he has to be encouraged every step, at best half a mile then I have to take him home and Carla and I go out again for exercise

He has a strong, stable, self-contained personality.  He is loving, obedient but independent.  He is my guide as much as I am his master.

He has severe arthritis in all four legs, particularly around the elbows but he also has some sort of spinal problem and you can see it clearly from the way he walks.  For some months anti-inflammatories seemed to help but no longer.  Now he is on 300mg gabapentin twice a day and there has been an improvement, without evident side effects.

He also developed epilepsy a few years ago and about every six months he has a cluster of about a dozen seizures over 24 – 36 hours.

I shall be by his side until the final moment and that will be a very difficult decision to make.  As long as he is happy and enjoying life I will look after him. When he finally goes to that neverending walk in the sky his legs won’t ever hurt again, the sun will always shine and there will be deer and rabbits to chase around every corner.

Written by Peter Reynolds

February 8, 2015 at 12:44 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It is heartbreaking. But.. we wouldn’t feel so strongly and despairingly, if the dog had meant nothing. We go through deaths of loyal companions over and over again. One of the problems of our long life. In this case, you can see that the end is coming.. but possibly the dog doesn’t think like that, and just lives? Mourning before death, is sometimes long-drawn-out. I am doing that about my two old dogs.. and for 20 odd years over my husband.. who has quite severe dementia, yet still struggles on. (If only I had patience.)

    When he goes, you must realise how many others there are out there in need of a good home, and find a space. Dogs’ homes are packed out with potential companion dogs. Every dog is an individual, whose place can’t be taken. But we have so many little spaces which can be filled by a dog, which will learn to know our ways, and bring company and pleasure.

    I wish you well.

    officialaccountability

    February 8, 2015 at 3:38 pm

  2. […] three years ago it had reached the stage where he couldn’t walk more than about 20 yards and I feared I would have to make the toughest decision of all.  In this state, when a cluster of seizures came along, he truly was a pathetic sight, my […]


Leave a Reply

