Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Justice Prevails. De Hoedt And McCulloch Defeated In The High Court.

with one comment

RCJ

Greg De Hoedt

Greg De Hoedt

At 10.30am this morning there was a case management conference before Master Eastman concerning my claim against Greg De Hoedt. I was awarded judgement against him in February and the next stage is for a High Court Judge to assess the damages and costs he must pay me.

It is only now, after more than a year trying to avoid my claim, that De Hoedt has faced up to it and appointed solicitors.  They represented him today.  He was not present. His solicitors applied to have the judgement set aside.  Master Eastman refused.  They then applied for the proceedings to be stayed pending my appeal against the striking out of my claim against Chris Bovey. Again, Master Eastman refused.  It is now up to me to propose the next steps and how exactly a Judge can assess the damages I am due.

Sarah McCulloch

Sarah McCulloch

At 11.00am there was a hearing before Master Eastman concerning my claim against Sarah McCulloch. She had obtained judgement against me by deception.  She had made false statements to the Court and pursued an application without giving me notice, so I that had no idea that it was taking place.  Today was my application to have her judgement set aside. I was successful and Master Eastman ordered that my claim should be reinstated.

Master Eastman also considered McCulloch’s claims that I was harassing her by writing to her about the case.  She had made a further false statement to the Court that I had been given an ‘Harassment Warning’ by the police. In fact a police officer from Harlow in Essex had telephoned me a few months ago to say that McCulloch had made a complaint.  We ended up laughing together at how ridiculous her allegation was when I was writing to her about a High Court case at the address she had filed with the Court.

I explained to Master Eastman that ever since I had discovered that McCulloch is diagnosed with two mental health conditions I had made generous offers to try and settle with her.  He was gentle with her but very firm and told her however hard she found it, she had to communicate with me about the case.

Afterwards, McCulloch and I had a five minute discussion outside the Court and I made a further offer to settle.  She explained that she had now edited one of her articles to remove the false allegation that I had lied about submitting a report to the Home Affairs Select Committee in 1983.

My offer to McCulloch is very generous, far more so than it would be were it not for her health problems. It was sad that as I walked away she shrieked “You’re a bigot!”  Nevertheless, I remain hopeful that she will see sense and we can both put this unhappy episode behind us.

Written by Peter Reynolds

April 11, 2014 at 6:22 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] my report of 11th April 2014, I today received the sealed Order from the High Court setting aside the judgment that Sarah […]


Leave a Reply

