Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Nigel Farage On Cannabis.

with 4 comments

Nigel Farage

I stood as a candidate for CLEAR Cannabis Law Reform in the 2012 Corby by-election. At the count I had the pleasure of speaking to Nigel on a number of occasions. He was nipping out to the car park for a cigarette and I was letting my dogs out of my car for a wee.

We got on very well and I found him truly charming and genuine. We talked about many things but of course I asked him about his views on cannabis. He agreed that present policy is “Barmy!” and that “Of course we should!” adopt a legalise, tax and regulate policy.

The really extraordinary thing about Nigel expressing these views is that they are unpopular with most UKIP supporters.  That marks him out as a very rare thing in UK politics – a man of true integrity.

farage Telegraph

The Daily Telegraph, 4th April 2014. Read the article here.

 

Written by Peter Reynolds

April 4, 2014 at 3:59 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nomenclature: on the CLEAR website there’s a picture of Nigel posing– or gesturing?–with a cigar; here you have him nipping out to the car park for a cigarette; yet he says “he has never taken drugs himself”… does that statement allow for deeming him a “man of true integrity”? Or is ignorance (shared by a majority) an excuse? Would you please ask Mr Farage to clarify?

    maxwood

    April 4, 2014 at 5:55 pm

  2. […] Nigel Farage On Cannabis (Peter Reynolds blog) – Read More […]

  3. He is truly an enigma. I find myself split in twain whenever he opens his mouth to talk. One the one hand, I am a vehement Euro-sceptic so I sympathise with him there, I also agree with decriminalisation on a massive scale and I agree that University tuition fees are simply barbarous. However, on the other side of the same coin, I think he’s far too protectionist – we don’t need more defence spending, If anything we spend a ludicrous glut of our revenue on it – and his xenophobia defies belief at times.

    I probably won’t be voting for him but, all the same, I wouldn’t mind catching a pint with him some time.

    harvey

    April 4, 2014 at 8:58 pm

  4. Reblogged this on 4:20 Smokers Blog.

    Martin

    April 5, 2014 at 11:52 am


Leave a Reply

