Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Immediate Plans Following My Election As LCA Leader

with 28 comments

First of all, I want to say thank you to all who voted for me and to the membership as a whole for placing its trust in me. I take the leadership on as a serious responsibility. This is the dawn of a new era and of what I’m calling for now,… “New LCA”.

I intend to work by consensus with both the management committee and the membership. We will carry forward the plans that I set out in my manifesto. However, even before that, my first priority is our registration as a political party. The membership voted for that before it voted for me.

I have reviewed all the information from the Electoral Commission. The most important part of registration is the submission of the party’s constitution. The existing constitution is not suitable for a political party with a leader and so it will have to be revised. This then is the time to review all aspects of the constitution and so include the plans I put forward in my manifesto which the membership voted for.

I have co-opted Stuart Warwick on to the management committee. The members of the committee are now: Don Barnard, Mark Palmer, Peter Reynolds, Stuart Warwick and Janice Wells.

The committee is now working together to produce a draft constitution for New LCA. It will consider everything about our future strategy including our name and identity. I anticipate that there will be a formal committee meeting in two or three weeks when we will publish the new draft constitution. We will consult widely as we go along. If possible, I am going to try and build in a formal consultation process so that members can comment or propose amendments to the draft. Then there will be a new ballot of the membership on the committee’s proposals.

Clearly, we cannot contest the Barnsley by-election on 3rd March. The Electoral Commission requires a minimum 20 working days to process a registration. We must plan to have completed the consultation, ballot and registration process in time to contest the May elections.

There is an exciting new campaign in development on the theme of “Reform. Regulate. Realise”. I am working with independent scientific experts to ensure the credibility of our message. I promise you will see the details soon,

Other important matters for consideration by the committee will include the website, the forum and the level of membership fees. Anyone, member or non-member, is welcome to write to me with their views, ideas or proposals. Email me at peter@peter-reynolds.co.uk.

28 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Exciting times Peter,

    This new campaign sounds exciting, i can’t wait to hear more, you’ve been a busy bee lately haven’t you 😉 Has the When We Grow Documentary been released yet as If so, I missed that…?

    I have some catching up to do I have been very busy with work the past week or so, I just need 6 numbers so i can devote all my time to campaigning but I am very pleased you are in the driving seat..

    Pistils@dawn

    February 17, 2011 at 9:27 am

    • Thanks Wayne. “When We Grow” should be released this afternoon I understand,.

      Peter Reynolds

      February 17, 2011 at 12:10 pm

  2. Congratulations Peter!!

    Jake

    February 17, 2011 at 10:16 am

  3. Well done and congratulations, Peter.

    keeptonyblairforpm

    February 17, 2011 at 11:18 am

    • Thanks ktbfpm. Can you get ol’ Tone onside?

      Peter Reynolds

      February 17, 2011 at 12:09 pm

  4. Congrats Peter!

    I’m with you on the name change from public scaring words: ‘LEGALISE’ and ‘CANNABIS’ and ‘ALLIANCE’ to a name that is fresher and more palatable.

    I’m a passionate anti-prohibionist and would be happy to help you in any way that I can.

    Brett McAllister

    February 17, 2011 at 11:35 am

    • Thanks Brett. I knew I recognisd that name from somewhere!

      Peter Reynolds

      February 17, 2011 at 12:09 pm

  5. Good Luck Peter, and well done.

    Clem the Gem

    February 17, 2011 at 12:01 pm

  6. Great stuff Peter. Very much liked the fact that you are working with the other important groups fighting to realise freedom. I’m genuinely hoping that these strokes are the beginning of the end of these laws which are a cancer on not only our society but those of millions across the world. Imagine a third world able to realise the potential of hemp in its many forms. A third world that can move toward full bellies and the confidence of happiness and fulfillment.

    Nick

    February 17, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    • Thank you Nick

      Peter Reynolds

      February 18, 2011 at 7:08 pm

  7. Congrats Peter wishing yourself and the LCA all the best. With Professor David Nutt, Transform and IDMU working together, it should carry the weight needed to pull this off.

    jimbob

    February 17, 2011 at 2:17 pm

  8. Good luck.

    TD

    February 17, 2011 at 3:17 pm

  9. Hi Peter I am very pleased to see you are working with Prof. Nutt. If one event made me sit up and pay attention it was his sacking and the wilful ignorance of science it entailed.

    Tim Kendall

    February 17, 2011 at 3:27 pm

  10. I’ll see if I can dig out some suggestions when I get back into the UK at the weekend.

    The biggest points are that possession of small amounts for personal use should not result in prosicution. Drug use/abuse should be treated the same as alcohol use/abuse and be a health issue not a policing one & the biggest one “Policy should be science based and include tobacco & alcohol so relative harms can be measured”.

    Mr_Bimble

    February 17, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    • Yes Mr Bimble – “We hold these truths to be self-evident”. We understand each other.

      Peter Reynolds

      February 18, 2011 at 7:07 pm

  11. Many of us our pleased at your being elected party leader Peter as we feel you know how to open doors and get things done as well as getting people on board.

    I have not been able to contribute on the LCA site as I cannot remember my username there and the request password (which i can remember) needs the login name to send a new password. Very frustrating but hopefully when the site is revamped I will be able to contribute.

    No emails were sent out to forum members concerning the proposed changes which one would have thought would have been the done thing.

    Now the membership fee needs to be reduced, the main reason is that it is not £24.00 is too much but one may regret joining IF (and I sincerely hope not) the LCA should fail to deliver anything of real substance that will keep our spirits up, but at a tenner a pop I think a hell of a lot of people will be more willing to give the LCA a chance, and that’s what the LCA needs, people joining, a membership that can be seriously envied and would command respect by its sheer numbers, so thinking on, make it a fiver for the 1st year as a discount and thank you for people rallying around our one common goal.

    L Catt

    February 17, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    • I’m 100% with you on this Catt! Membership numbers are a key factor. Why not abandon membership fees for an opt. in/out donation.

      Nick

      February 18, 2011 at 11:00 am

    • Thank you Lucky. I don’t know what you mean about the LCA delivering “substances” to keep your “spirits up”!! Let me just say that there are certain necessary changes that are self-evident. You clearly know what I mean.

      All the problems with the web site will be sorted out too. There is a radical solution in the offing.

      Inevitably, I have to ask you to bear with me for a few weeks before you start to see changes taking place.

      Peter Reynolds

      February 18, 2011 at 7:06 pm

  12. as a member of aminstream political party im am considering whether to resign and join a party that wants to taz and regulate.

    Rory

    February 18, 2011 at 2:46 pm

  13. if only i knew how to spell mainstream, and tax….

    Rory

    February 18, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    • New LCA is the party for you then Rory

      Peter Reynolds

      February 18, 2011 at 7:00 pm

  14. “New LCA”.

    Oh Dear that’s original, I recall”New Labour” was equally as brilliant and inventive and look what damage they did.

    fred

    February 18, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    • It wasn’t meant to be original Fred and I did have my tongue ever so slightly in my cheek you know!

      Peter Reynolds

      February 18, 2011 at 7:00 pm

  15. Peter not really sure myself what I meant by “substance” both my wife and I are suffering with Pneumonia so the head is not as clear as one would like it to be.

    But I do still have ideas, as foggy as they are I would like to run them past and will try to be as clear as I can be..

    Like Martin Luther King I too have a dream for the immediate future and that is for everyone involved in cannabis activism to unite and throw their weight firmly and squarely behind the LCA, to forget the petty squabbles of the past to put aside any political or social prejudices and fight with one voice against prohibition.

    People power will speak volumes, free membership fee (no lca voting rights) and a discounted 1st year membership will hook many more people, I would like to see it run into the hundreds of thousands and do not see why that is not possible, the media, the government would not be able to dismiss or bully such a mandate, 200,000 + members, completely possible given the power of the internet, this will only be our year if people make it so and will give the media so much less room to do what they do best, however 200, 300 members and they will claim the LCA only represents a small minority.. that has to change imho.

    L Catt

    February 18, 2011 at 7:53 pm

  16. Yes we CANnabis!

    pjmcneill

    February 19, 2011 at 12:33 am

  17. […] Immediate Plans Following My Election As LCA Leader […]

  18. […] “New LCA” is in the process of drafting its constitution and revising its aims and principles in accordance with the results of the leadership election.  The immediate plans following the election are set out here. https://peterreynolds.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/immediate-plans-following-my-election-as-lca-leader/ […]

  19. I think you have nailed it with “Reform. Regulate. Realise”

    The bringing together of all the scientists and research programmes and universities in one complete compiled report of the cannabis medical evidence there already is and to be agreed by all involved, to continue to Debate our position on the regulation and evidence based facts to the government, there also has to be some plan to present the change over of the regulation, would it be the NHS, Docters, or the Natural medicine profession outlets (coffee shops, etc), cards, prescriptions who shows currently in the world good ability to regulate ie California, Amsterdam, Canada ??? re-education of society as a whole, who could we lease with to help present our debate, does this involve human rights (yes) I’m sure these are things you are considering as I Do.

    James

    March 6, 2011 at 10:23 pm


Leave a Reply

