Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

The Bean Counter And The Ponce. A Pair Of Hypocrites.

with 23 comments

There is no more integrity.

This government is even more corrupt than the last.  Not just widespread financial corruption amongst MPs, now ministers have abandoned all pretence at listening or consulting.   Britain has become an oligarchy and both politicians and the media are complicit.

I and many other Tories were prepared to accept and defend the financial squeeze but I can no longer support this government.  I could not vote Tory again given the level of betrayal and arrogance from David Cameron.  As for the LibDems,  they have sacrificed their integrity completely.  I see nothing unfair with the present proposals for tuition fees but deplore and condemn the LibDem’s broken promises.  They are ruined.  Clegg is beyond, in fact, beneath redemption.

Ministers in this government have become more remote than ever before.  They sit in their feather-bedded ivory towers and just ignore correspondence.  This is now par for the course in the respect and courtesy that our government pays us.  One can write again and again, send email reminders and never get even an acknowledgement.  This is disregard so serious that it is corruption.

Clegg’s “Your Freedom” website was canned as quickly as it started.  No, no, no, that gave the people far too loud a voice.

And the press are involved too.  They protect and serve only their own comfort in the politics bubble.  The editors of the national newspapers follow their own agenda with no regard for their readers.  Normal rules of supply and demand do not apply.  They have so much power that most only know what they are given.   They distort the truth as it suits them.  Only what serves them gets published.

We have some recourse with the BBC.  It is obliged to provide balance but the complaints system is worse than useless and the director-general receives a ludicrous bribe of £838,000 per annum.

Over just the last 12 months there have been massive demonstrations in London where tens of thousands of people have taken to the streets but we do not hear of  them.  It is entirely true that were it not for the violence we would never have heard of the 52,000 students that marched on Millbank earlier this month.  The blood spilled and the damage caused is on the hands of the media.  They are a corrupt and pernicious influence on our society.  Much as I believe in smaller government, the media now have too much power.  Effective regulation is needed.

The Tory promise never to allow more power to slip to Brussels has also been broken and Cameron is exposed as nothing more than a procedural clerk.  All his bold, inspirational philosophy of freedom and fairness is gone.  I have never seen such hostility from those who were previously firm Tory supporters.

This corrupt and self-serving government is going down the pan.

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. >This corrupt and self-serving government is going down the pan.

    And ASAP, PLEASE!!!

    Love it, Peter. I agree with your analysis completely – because it is spot on.

    I always knew that it took more than sunny weather for more than 5 million Brits to be living in France and Spain. Why wake up every morning with all of this crap in your head, if you don’t need to?

    Bottom line: UK gov is succeeding more and more in alienating themselves from what should be the true thrust of public confidence in their government. A truly disgusting spectacle, TBS.

    Jayelle Farmer

    November 24, 2010 at 11:24 pm

  2. They are dreadful. There was some Lib Dem on SKY tonight, saying that the coalition would last and we would always have coalitions…. heaven help us!

    We cannot endure this for much longer.

    angelnstar

    November 24, 2010 at 11:42 pm

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ryan Jackson, Peter Reynolds. Peter Reynolds said: The Bean Counter And The Ponce. A Pair Of Hypocrites.: http://wp.me/pgXXJ-MR […]

  4. Ah, well, there we go, Peter. Politics always ends in tears, they say.

    Perhaps you now understand why I, never a member of Labour, but once a member of one of the other two, had no idea which party to vote for in May. In the end it was a decision made on personal grounds – I knew the candidate.

    That candidate actually lost locally, but their party is now in government. Though of course no party actually won in May.

    And now… the honeymoon’s over. Even as Gove develops Blair’s education innovations and tries to claim credit.

    http://opinion.publicfinance.co.uk/2010/11/education-white-paper-gove-the-heir-to-blair-by-conor-ryan/

    keeptonyblairforpm

    November 25, 2010 at 1:13 am

  5. […] The Bean Counter And The Ponce. A Pair Of Hypocrites. […]

  6. Here, here.

    Nick

    November 25, 2010 at 8:27 am

    • For God’s sake! It is ‘Hear Hear!’

      lo ma sek to

      November 25, 2010 at 2:59 pm

      • Where? Pardon?

        Peter Reynolds

        November 25, 2010 at 3:03 pm

      • Your too kind! I did wonder ?? Too little time concentrating during my school years. Thankfully I’m good at crafts.

        Nick

        November 25, 2010 at 6:52 pm

  7. I believe things have been like this for some time, one of the reasons I left the country years ago.

    Andy

    November 25, 2010 at 9:09 am

    • I bow before your wisdom Andy. I was out of the Yuk K for over 27 years and made the error of returning!
      What a fool am I?

      lo ma sek to

      November 25, 2010 at 3:01 pm

  8. Peter, you articulate your anger better than I ever could. We are all disgusted by the state of things, and the depressing thing is that most people just don’t give a toss. I think we can look forward to a nice hypocritical drug strategy as well when it comes out as well.

    I am 23 and i already have no faith in politics to the point that I probably will spoil my ballot paper for the rest of my life.

    Sam

    November 25, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    • Thanks for your comment Sam.

      For the two before last elections I spoiled my ballot papers by writing “no suitable candidate” across them.

      Last time I came back in and voted Tory. I have been betrayed. Not as badly as LibDem voters though.

      Most politicians are corrupt, self-serving fraudsters. The expenses scandal was just the trivial end of the scale. They should remember Russia in the last century and France in the 18thC. Even the placid and apathetic British can only be pushed so far.

      Peter Reynolds

      November 25, 2010 at 12:44 pm

      • I voted for nobody before the LCA had candidates, then I voted LCA. Since then I have written “legalise cannabis” on my ballot paper until this year when I voted Green

        Maybe if we all joined the Green Party we could save it and improve it – by big moan about them is that they virtually ignore the benefits of cannabis and hemp

        Alun Buffry

        November 25, 2010 at 3:18 pm

      • Peter, don’t get Sam started on the “they’re all corrupt” highhorse at his age. He’ll turn into a Guardianisto, FGS!

        In fact I challenge you, Sam, to visit and get to know your own MP. My experience is that today most British politicians are NOT corrupt and certainly not self-serving fraudsters.

        I know I’m in a minority but I thought the disgracefully overblown Telegraph campaign against the expenses system was utterly reprehensible and illegal! How come no-one was charged with leaking MPs’ private information? Hmmm? Especially when one knows that in business MOST poeple are bending their expenses to increase their pay packets and dodge the taxman. Journos? I have NO doubt. They bend everything, including the truth. Add to that – for probably 20 years or more polticians’ incomes have actually fallen back relatively because political parties were ALL afraid of the bloody-minded press.

        Now if you want “corrupt”, if you want “self-serving” – it’s them – THE PRESS. Unelected know-alls with agendas.

        Btw, Peter I used your excellent article at the blog, in case you haven’t noticed.

        http://keeptonyblairforpm.wordpress.com/2010/11/25/it-took-6-months-for-tories-lib-dems-to-feel-disappointment/

        keeptonyblairforpm

        November 26, 2010 at 1:34 am

      • Thanks for the plug ktbfpm. Of course I saw it!

        Thank God we missed getting Howard Flight as an MP. Cameron should axe him before he gets his ermine. He defines the self-serving a***eholes on the Tory side. Who shall we choose for Labour, the harridan Harman, the vile Eagle sisters or some fat, northern mill owner?

        I agree with you about the press of course.

        I tried to get to know my new local MP, Richard Plunkett-Ernle-Erle-Drax (known as Richard Drax) but after two letters to a minister on my behalf he’s “entirely satisfied that I have dealt with your concerns appropriately” and doesn’t want to do any more. Still, he has to find time for his 12,000 acres and longest brick wall in Britain doesn’t he?

        Peter Reynolds

        November 26, 2010 at 1:12 pm

  9. Surely you couldnt have expected anything different,they are politicians.All that matters to any of them is their gaurenteed wages,as for the rest of us,well we have just got to sit back and put up with it.I voted Lib Dem,I might just as well voted for Mickey Mouse,at least I would have got o laugh out of it.

    Victor Hamilton

    November 25, 2010 at 1:13 pm

  10. I certainly agree with you – bunch of corrupt and greedy liars – but like Vic says, what did we expect – it is the PEOPLE that needs to learn and to show that THEY CAN (WE CAN) make a difference and not just swing back and forth between Labour and Conservatives. As for the Lib Dems, Clegg and Cable and pals have ruined that party’s chance next time – I just hope that the remnants of that party can vote him out as leader

    Alun Buffry

    November 25, 2010 at 3:16 pm

  11. Hopelessness is on the rise in the UK. The politicians refuse to listen.

    What can we do?

    Als

    November 25, 2010 at 4:17 pm

  12. lets all march to london like the students

    graham

    November 26, 2010 at 3:31 am

  13. As a convinced political opponent, I am sorry to see you disillusioned so quickly! All politics involves compromise, often it is a dirty world out there, and although I would rather have a Labour government than this one, I still have respect for anyone who wishes to do the job, whatever they believe.
    As to the rising tide of pessimism in Britain, why dont we all do our bit by getting a little angry and holding this lot to account. i am sure that we would find common ground on some issues, after all, we all love our country don’t we?
    http://clemthegem.wordpress.com/

    Doctordrink

    November 26, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    • Sorry Doc, I just had a solid fifteen minutes hysterical laughter at the thought of a Labour government. Still, they say it’s the best medicine, don’t they?

      Hold them to account? They’re all securely locked away in their ivory towers. They don’t listen to us. Their friends the newspaper editors snuff out any dissent.

      I love my country. I despise and hold in the deepest contempt 75% of politicians and civil servants.

      Peter Reynolds

      November 26, 2010 at 1:18 pm

      • This Coalition Government isn’t even a joke, that would be an insult to humour because I can’t find anything remotely funny about the way they lie about everything that reveals their inabillity to think logically, instead they just lie, lie and lie some more to hide the wrongs they have already done with more wrongs! I can’t stand the thought of such self serving, arrogant creatures driving this once great country rapidly down the drain. Our national Debt is disgusting, bankers are earning more now than ever and our weak government just sits back and watches them rape us.

        I could go on but it would ruin my sunday lunch to spend any more of my time thinking about such things, i will be spending the remainder of the afternoon searching for properties abroad, i think it’s time to tax my business to less corrupt shores.

        regards

        Pistils

        Pistils@dawn

        November 28, 2010 at 1:06 pm


Leave a Reply

