Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Britain’s Elder Statesman

with 19 comments

In A Proud And Honourable Tradition

William Hague is a British politician we can be proud of.  I agree with almost every word he says.  The only subject on which we diverge is Trident.  I see no point at all in this massively expensive white elephant.  Everything that can be achieved by possessing a nuclear weapon is achieved by just one warhead capable of use on a variety of delivery methods.  Our generals don’t want Trident.  We should listen to their advice.

Hague’s time as PM was an unhappy one and it is true that his judgment can be a little wobbly at times but only on trivial matters such as dress code.  His presence, intelligence and dignity endow him with a magnificent stature that commands not just the conference platform but the world stage.  He makes Labour politcians look either like spiteful, spotty schoolboys or grumpy old codgers with dinosaur attitudes and medieval manners.

He is the perfect foil to David Cameron.  Truly, this is a wonderful partnership which will enable Britain to regain its place as a world leader.

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ‘regain it’s place as a world leader’

    Hhmmm ???

    duncanr

    October 6, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    • Come on Duncan! What’s that supposed to mean?

      Don’t leave me in suspense!

      Did we never lose it – or do we stand no chance of ever getting it back?

      Och aye the noo, or however it is you Scots put it, speak your mind man! Dinnae hold out on me now!

      Peter Reynolds

      October 6, 2010 at 6:16 pm

      • I think our past history/glory has given us an inflated opinion of our present position in the world

        Time to adopt a more realistic appraisal of our standing vis a vis other countries.

        We are not the economic power we once were. Nor are we the military power we once were. Britain may once have ruled the waves, but now Somali pirates and Iranian gunboats take the piss out of us. 🙄

        duncanr

        October 6, 2010 at 8:13 pm

      • Could be our first real disagreement here Duncsy baby.

        I don’t think we ever lost it. Britain is the most consistent world leader in the world!

        Economically, we are still sixth in the world for GDP. Militarily, right now, how many other countries can project power around the world as we can?

        It’s only 70 years ago that we literally saved the world when we stood up to the Nazis alone for a whole year.

        No other nation has the moral and cultural authority of Britain and I cannot see how that will ever change.

        The disgrace that America has brought on itself recently is very significant in a history of only 200 years. Although Britain has plenty to be ashamed of, on balance it has done more to develop and advance the world than any other nation, ever.

        The rest of the world knows that. Being a Scotsman is no excuse. You’re just as much part of it as us Taffies and the Little Englanders.

        Come on Duncan. You can be proud of us too!

        Peter Reynolds

        October 6, 2010 at 8:35 pm

  2. Why is it that the Scottish hate us English so much? Is it because we own their country?

    Only kidding .. couldn’t stop myself.. Sorry Duncanr xx

    Nick

    October 6, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    • It’s because the English chopped Mel Gibson’s William Wallace’s balls off in public isn’t it Duncs?

      Peter Reynolds

      October 6, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    • My 2nd wife was a sassenach.

      The first time she met any of my relatives was when we went up to Edinburgh for the funeral of one of my aunts.

      After the Crem we went to a local hotel for a bit of a do.

      When I introduced her to my cousin Tam and he heard her accent, he turned to me and said ‘Are there no enough bonny scot’s lassies that ye had to go marry a bluidy sassenach’

      Before she could kick him in the balls ( she was a feisty lady) I assured her he was joking and that he liked her really – a fact she was more ready to accept when he kept trying to pinch her arse a few drinks later.

      Later, on the drive back down the M6 – after the wake was brought to a premature end by the arrival of the police to break up a fight between several of my aunts which had spilled out on to the hotel carpark, Mrs D declared it was the best bloody funeral she had ever attended, and when was the next one !!!

      duncanr

      October 6, 2010 at 7:57 pm

  3. But that was such a long time ago. Where’s the love? And anyway after being hung, drawn and quartered testicles become somewhat obsolete? Please correct me if I’m wrong.

    Nick

    October 6, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    • Well down ‘ere in Dorset ‘ere, we be still doing the ol’ hangin’ drawin’ quarterin’. Every third Thursday in the Market Square followed by cider and morris dancing.

      The balls be chopped off first, then the stomach slit open and drawn ‘ere, then the arms and legs, see ‘ere. Gives you a few minutes to appreciate it see ‘ere, afore ye go like, ‘ere.

      Peter Reynolds

      October 6, 2010 at 7:24 pm

  4. I must agree with you Peter with regard to British standing. For my sins, I too was in the advertising industry for 20 odd years. I even dealt with another past Saachi Director on far too many occasions for my liking.
    Anyway..During this time I travelled extensively. I can say that the British are held in the highest regard and certainly, the Europeans consider London the capital of European business. This opinion also extends into what was the Eastern Block with the exclusion of only Russia whom treat the English/British with a measured distrust although this is not to say that they do not respect us. Americans also have the greatest respect for the British, the one’s who’ve heard of us that is. The one surprise for me was that the Germans also appeared to think highly of us! The same in India and again in the UAE. Israel…not so sure, they simply appeared rude and arrogant…No.. I’m not a Nazi and yes weren’t the Germans shits in the 40’s.. (Jewish disclaimer..they seem a little sensitive to criticism)
    The majority of the folk were in the medical industry, educated and more often than not open minded. They all however shared one opinion that the Americans are the cause of all our problems. Not sure I entirely agree although there is a thread of truth I think. Britain is still ‘Great’ despite Scottish and Welsh aspirations of furthered devolution. The sadness is that the ambitions of the above will, I believe, damage their own credibility and world standing. On the other hand the English will continue to carry respect across the world with or without. If I sound smug its not my intention. I personally don’t care which side of some line on a political map we come from cause lets be honest, look back in history and we are all as bad as each other the English simply managed to do it on a bigger scale.

    Nick

    October 6, 2010 at 9:53 pm

  5. I agree with you on everything Nick, until your outrageous attempt to hijack Britain for England!

    This island (for that is the key ingredient to our greatness) is more than the sum of its parts but each part is vital. Devolution is just administrative. It has nothing to do with the soul of our nation.

    I am Welsh first and British second. I could not be more proud of either. My fierce rivalry with the English and Scots (and the Irish) combines with my intense love for our joint nation.

    We are entirely unique.

    (cue: I Vow To Thee My Country)

    Peter Reynolds

    October 6, 2010 at 10:34 pm

  6. At last someone who agrees with me. If I appeared to suggest that England is GB then I would indeed be out of order. I am in fact Welsh by my fathers line although I only recently discovered this. What I was trying to express was in a way disappointment at what I kind of see as Welsh and Scottish desertion of the cause. In the the past I also had dealings with the then W.D.A . Many of their discussions pinpoint a deep loathing of the English and I honestly believe that given a choice they would separate from us entirely. I have often witnessed similar opinion from a variety of Scotts. Maybe its simply the case that they didn’t like me or were trying to get a reaction?? These feelings however are not reciprocated by most, if not all intelligent/educated English. I think it all a little sad. I too am proud to be British. I think we are the greatest nation on earth. More than anything its our compassion and willingness to react to the wrong in the world that sets us aside.
    I forgot to mention the Chinese last night. I think thier name for us is ‘ Gentleman people’ or something with a similar gist.

    Nick

    October 7, 2010 at 8:08 pm

  7. You and I are singing off the same hymn sheet boyo.

    Peter Reynolds

    October 7, 2010 at 8:20 pm

  8. Its a treat to meet you Peter. I can say that finding your site has and will be a personal reassurance that I’m not barmmy. Its also good to see an individual of quantifiable ‘norm’ fighting the cause.
    This is a questionable statement sounding as if I judge raster’s or dudes with pink beards. Believe me its not! It’s merely a statement saying you are what and the type of who that the greater Daily Mail reading and indeed power and voteing masss public need to see.

    Don’t stop !
    We are not criminals or bad people lacking in moral fibre we are simply people.

    Nick

    October 7, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    • It’s a pleasure to meet you too Nick. I don’t know much about you though. Are you on the dreaded Facebook?

      Peter Reynolds

      October 8, 2010 at 12:02 pm

  9. Were you the aide sharing a room with William recently Peter? You seem unduly struck with the chap. Ribbing aside, Hague has grown up, but these Tories are singing very old tunes. I’m waiting for the spending review, but currently all I’ve seen is gas.

    allcoppedout

    October 8, 2010 at 1:27 am

    • No I’m not as pretty as him, ACO. William prefers ’em young, skinny and dumb.

      I’m an old, fat smartarse.

      Peter Reynolds

      October 8, 2010 at 9:16 am

  10. Touche and snap Peter.

    allcoppedout

    October 9, 2010 at 10:24 am

  11. I’m afraid that I can see nothing past the image of some spotty, snotty, precocious little oik, making a complete tit of himself at the tory conference as a teenager, many moons ago.

    He wasn’t to be taken seriously then, and isn’t now.

    Mind you…. he’s ten times more credible than his newly appointed shadow, for whom ‘shadow’ is a very apt title, as she has about as much depth as one.

    NobblySan

    October 9, 2010 at 7:57 pm


Leave a Reply

