Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

‘Scuse Me While I Kiss the Sky!

with 5 comments

In tribute to the finest guitarist and one of the greatest musicians the world has ever seen – who died 40 years ago this week.

This remarkable photograph was taken inside the house at 25, Brook Street, Mayfair where the composer Handel lived until his death in 1759.  He was a German whose career took off when he came to London.  He was well known for flamboyant displays of virtuoso baroque music.

200 years later in 1968, Jimi Hendrix moved into the same building.  He was an American whose career took off when he came to London.  He was well known for flamboyant displays of virtuoso blues and rock music.

Their spirit lives on forever.

Written by Peter Reynolds

September 14, 2010 at 5:20 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Also, you can the Muppets to this list Peter, they made it over here before the U.S took notice. Don’t think they lived in that house though, I’ll check on that one.

    I’ve always been torn with Hendrix, on one hand I can totally get him and he was ahead of his time. But, as a guitarist (not that I can play like him of course) I’ve never aspired to be like him or take any of his style on board. At best, he is an axe genius, at worst, he sounds like a sloppy bedroom player that will make the ear cringe.

    I also understand completely that “you had to be there”; listening to him with a modern day view is too easy to dismiss the haphazard playing style that he sometimes adopted. You can certainly see why he rattled some cages back in the day and to why he’s stood the test of time.

    As sacrilegious as it is, I’m not sure I would have him in my top 5 guitarists. Always held a great deal of ambivalence with Jimmy.

    Anyway, whatever my view, I can certainly hold an unyielding respect and rest assured in the knowledge that I will never be able to play like the great man.

    I can listen to Handle too, always loved the classics, you can’t beat that big wall of sound. Was quite into the proms this year.

    Anyway, ramble over. Not sure what point I was making in this comment, but I’ll stick to it!

    HomeGrownOutlaw

    September 15, 2010 at 1:20 am

    • I am in two minds whether to report your blasphemy to the thought police. Perhaps you need some Q-tips and 10 minutes to clean your lugholes out? I’ll be lenient for now.

      Perhaps a better therapy would be to start with No. 2, Carlos Santana, before you work up to full strength, No. 1 Jimi? Your ears may become better accustomed that way to the soaring emotional rollercoaster that is the very best guitar playing.

      As for the Muppets, I think you’ve been on the wacky baccy again haven’t you?

      Peter Reynolds

      September 15, 2010 at 8:29 am

  2. You see, we’ve had a good run Peter, we’ve seen eye to eye on most things, but I feel we’ve come to an end. Santana?! No no no, I cannot disagree more, I’ve never been a fan of that playing style. He always sounds like he needs a damn good lesson in tone control to me. He does know he’s got buttons to adjust the treble doesn’t he?

    Off the top off my head, I would go (in no order):

    Mark Knopfler
    Steve Vai
    Brain May perhaps
    Andrew Ridgeley
    The red Wiggle

    I can never think who blows me away when I get into these discussions. So many good ones out there. Newton Faulkner is a modern day great in my humble opinion, he’s got some real talent.

    I am going to give Hendrix more of a chance, I’ve not given up on him, I just there is a small element of Emperor’s New Clothes about him. It doesn’t help that I’ve seen a thousand covers bands try and pull Hendrix off; it taints the legacy a tad.

    Jason (HomeGrown Outlaw)

    September 16, 2010 at 12:25 am

    • You move from blasphemy to heresy and then absurdity (Andrew Ridgeley is a joke, yeah?)

      I never saw Jimi play. I was 13 when he died. I have seen Carlos play 10 times. The first was in 1973. The last was in 2005 at Wembley Arena where I wept with joy and wonder throughout his entire set. Probably the most memorable was at the Royal Albert Hall where I had a front row seat, right at my idol’s feet.

      I think maybe the Q-tips didn’t do the job properly. Perhaps an ear transplant is called for?

      Peter Reynolds

      September 16, 2010 at 8:38 am

  3. It’s not very often that I come across a recording of Jimi that I haven’t heard before.

    I just found this.

    It’s an absurd understatement to say that the guitar playing is breathtaking, just utterly mindboggling.

    Peter Reynolds

    October 8, 2010 at 7:26 pm


Leave a Reply

