Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Pakistan. The Uncomfortable Truth

with 5 comments

This may be a very uncomfortable truth but I think the world has made its moral judgement on Pakistan.  In a sense it is wonderful that the world has a collective moral conscience but it is a tragedy for the innocent Pakistanis.

Disaster

The professional aid givers, campaigners and do gooders will do their best but the simple truth is that there is a complete inertia, an ambivalence about Pakistan because of the treason that it has committed against the human race.  Sympathy for individual suffering will continue but Pakistan is reaping what it has sown.

This may lead to even bigger problems.  There are thousands yet to die as a result of the floods.  Extremist Islamists, as the psychopaths that they are, will seek to exploit this and they may succeed.  Nevertheless, it will not alter, in fact it will probably reinforce the world’s antipathy for Pakistan.

As in all such crises what is needed is leadership.  Obama emerged from nowhere to rescue America from its descent into shame.  Let us pray that a real leader comes forward for Pakistan.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Are you serious? Ask the Pakistan-Americans if they are going to support sending money to Pakistan? They answer is no! Because a small percentage will reach the innocent villagers and the rest to their corrupt gov.

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/csm/20100819/ts_csm/320461;_ylt=AvRtcoYNkeA2UPqsKxEHNDEGw_IE;_ylu=X3oDMTJza3ZwN2ZuBGFzc2V0A2NzbS8yMDEwMDgxOS8zMjA0NjEEY2NvZGUDbW9zdHBvcHVsYXIEY3BvcwM0BHBvcwM0BHNlYwN5bl90b3Bfc3RvcmllcwRzbGsDd2h5cGFraXN0YW5p

    Just to prove it to you. I’m sure you’ve heard of the Afghan War Diaries right? Of course the mainstream media is making a big deal about the 2007 Apache Helicopter incidents but in there shows just where all this U.S. funded economic aid is going and it’s not for their economy (if it were the villagers would be living better then you and me!) It’s going to the Taliban in Pakistan, Afghanistan, and their border.

    http://wikileaks.org/wiki/Afghan_War_Diary,_2004-2010

    Juliet

    August 21, 2010 at 8:57 pm

  2. Darn it Peter. I read above the picture and scrolled down too far to the comment box w/o even noticing your comments below the picture. I can see we’re on the same page now after I posted the previous comment and saw what you wrote below the picture. Sorry again!

    Juliet

    August 21, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    • Thank God for that! What with your very, very exciteable friend Jessica and that – I thought I was going mad or speaking a different language!

      Thanks for the links.

      Perhaps you can explain to Jessica. She did make me angry in the end and I was rather patronising to her. She’s ranting and raving in the wrong direction! We’re on the same side.

      Peter Reynolds

      August 21, 2010 at 9:11 pm

      • I know I couldn’t believe, after I posted that comment, that I missed the literature below the picture. Once I saw what I had done I was like “great, now this guy is really going to think I’m small minded”. lol. Which then lead me to the apology.

        Regarding Jessica. Although I’m not sure exactly what her intent is but I’m sure she means well. I feel she has a lot of passion for her country and people. I’m the same way but for my new blog I’m trying hard to be bias. I feel that what I’m trying to say will be exposed in time, through other people like you and Jessica, without people rejecting my blog because of my personal opinions. I believe we are on the same side to a certain extent but we all have our differences. I believe debates like those are what people can see and learn there are more sides to a story then one or two. Thank you for all your info and inputs. Likewise it has been a pleasure debating with you and Jessica on my end as well.

        Juliet

        August 22, 2010 at 10:39 pm

      • Thank you Juliet.

        Strangely, when I wrote this I found drops of water coming from my eyes. I don’t know why!

        10,000 British heroes are fighting, dying and sacrificing themselves alongside their American brothers-in-arms in Afghanistan.

        70 years ago this week this tiny island stood alone for a full year against the might of Nazi Germany, Italy and Japan until America joined the fight against evil and together we literally saved the world.

        We stand alongside each other still.

        I look forward to debating with you again.

        Peter Reynolds

        August 23, 2010 at 7:42 am


Leave a Reply

