Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Republicans Reveal True Colours To Brits

with 26 comments

The story about the mosque being built at Ground Zero has been bubbling away for a few days.  This evening, on BBC Radio 4’s “PM” programme an interview with Scott Wheeler of the National Republican Trust fired my interest.  In fact, it made me explode with anger.

To start the interview Eddie Mair, the PM frontman, played a radio commercial opposing the construction of the mosque. The NRT has paid for its production and broadcast.   It is outrageous.  I think it would probably fall foul of the law here for “incitement to racial hatred”.

Here’s the TV version which uses the same audio track.  Setting Brush Fires, a US blogger,  found this for me.

I’ll repeat that name for you:  Scott Wheeler, of the National Republican Trust.   He’s the individual promoting these ideas.  If the boot was on the other foot he would now be at 30,000 feet on his way to Guantanamo Bay.

I hope that US Republicans are going to tell me that I’m wrong, that he’s a bit of a nutter and he and his cronies are unrepresentative of the mainstream.  I hope so because if this is what represents American free speech, for the first time ever, I’m not jealous of their written constitution.

These ideas are every bit as wicked as the preachings of Abu Hamza or Anjem Choudary, the Islamist extremists who have tried to influence Britain.   Scott Wheeler is exactly the same but the opposite.

These are the scum of the earth.

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If the construction of this mosque proceeds, subject to normal planning controls, it is the best possible proof of the wonderful values enshrined in the US constitution. It is a demonstration of America’s strength. Only cowards and hypocrites will oppose it.

    Mind you, I think the Islamic activists behind this are stupid and they demean their own beliefs by their provocation.

    Extremist Islam has to be resisted but not by abandoning our principles.

    Good always triumphs over evil in the end – and our willingness to sacrifice for it is a measure of our worth.

    Peter Reynolds

    August 19, 2010 at 10:52 pm

  2. I think the best quote I’ve heard is something along the lines of “The fact that America will let a mosque be built there tells you all you need to know about Americans, and the fact the Muslims will build a mosque there tells you all you need to know about Muslims.”

    I completely agree that they have a right to build it there. It’s distasteful, but not illegal.

    That said, I wonder how they’d feel about someone building a gay bar next door. Muslims claim they want to build the mosque to “build dialogue,” but most Muslims hate homosexuals, so imagine how much dialogue could be created by a gay bar catering exclusively to Muslim men built next door to a mosque!

    I think it would be a terrific way to bring the two sides together.

    theweeklyargus

    August 19, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    • I think you’re spot on! If only just us Peters ruled the world, eh?

      Peter Reynolds

      August 19, 2010 at 11:12 pm

      • Very true. And on a side note, I think ‘Between the Sheikhs’ would be a great name for a gay bar that catered to men of Muslim faith.

        theweeklyargus

        August 20, 2010 at 12:52 am

    • Or even a “snide” note?

      Peter Reynolds

      August 20, 2010 at 1:03 am

    • A lot of Christians hate homosexuals too.

      buddyhell

      August 20, 2010 at 10:11 am

      • Christians, homosexuals, Muslims, Marx brothers imitators?

        Each to their own! Do what you like! Just don’t try to impose your ideas on me!

        Peter Reynolds

        August 20, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    • The snappy quote is spoiled only by a few minor details. (1) It’s not actually a mosque (2) It’s several blocks away from the WTC site (3) There has been a mosque in the area for over twenty years with no trouble – if memory serves it’s about 6 blocks away(4) As there were many Muslims among the WTC victims, including several first responders who died helping others, building an Islamic Centre in the vicinity is no more disrespectful than building a YMCA.

      The idea of the gay bar for Muslims is amusing (though I doubt it would pay its way). I’d certainly support it IF it was part of a chain, with other outlets placed alongside Southern Baptist churches, Orthodox synagogues and other temples of homophobic dogma.

      Rob

      August 29, 2010 at 3:06 am

      • My considered view on this is that it would be wrong and self-defeating to impose any special controls or restrictions on this development. Clearly, there is an existing planning process and the opportunity for objections and these should be made vociferously and powerfully. I would hope that permission will be refused based on this normal procedure.

        Peter Reynolds

        August 29, 2010 at 5:17 pm

  3. Republican opposition to the Park51 cultural center/mosque (and yes, it’s very mainstream amongst conservatives) just highlights the depressingly sad state of politics over here in the US.

    Bush’s TARP and Obama’s stimulus have done nothing to stop/reverse our “Great Recession” and have helped the national debt explode to the point there’s talk the debt will surpass GDP by the end of the decade. Unemployment’s still absurdly high (and many folks, myself included, who are employed are working jobs beneath our past work experience and our abilities.) Obama’s signature piece of legislation (the health care reform bill referred to by the US-right as “Obamacare”) is so bad that his administration has flip-flopped in court to defend it from lawsuits brought upon by certain states (it wasn’t a tax while pushing for it, but now to keep it, it supposedly falls under government’s power to tax) and his most liberal supporters have conceded that claims it’d lower or not raise the deficit and health care costs are false.

    So with the current government failing so epically, you’d think Republicans would be prime to take over. However, they have no ideas/alternatives of their own so rather than lets Dems lose on their own record, they turned this into a controversy. Xenophobic hatred and lack of tolerance is what Reps are banking on, and thanks to archaic ballot access laws, “third” parties lack the ability to kick these bums out of office.

    Almost everyone named as a potential 2012 Republican presidential candidate (Sarah Palin, Newt Gingrich) has come out in opposition to “the Ground Zero Mosque” despite the fact it’s been in the works since before 9/11, there’s a mosque two blocks away from the Park51 site that no one’s complaining about (and Muslims pray only 80 feet away from the 9/11 crash site at the Pentagon), and the building this supposedly “hallowed” ground would be built on used to be a Burlington Coat Factory store. I already pointed out on my blog that had the shoe been on the other foot, and 9/11 had been orchestrated by Christian extremists (I use Westboro Baptist Church for my example) and this were a proposed Christian mega-church these Republicans wouldn’t be invoking the name of those who lost loved ones on 9/11.

    Oh, and to touch on the gay bar idea that came up in the comments, the guy who’s wanting to build that hosts a very late-night snarky media show on Fox News and is really doing that for publicity. It did lead to a fun day on Twitter of everyone making their Muslim gay bar names (my favorite was “Suspicious Packages”.)

    thecbp

    August 20, 2010 at 8:42 am

    • Thanks for that. I take it you’re pretty cynical about the land of the free and the home of the brave then?

      Peter Reynolds

      August 20, 2010 at 9:09 am

    • thecpb-

      I can tell you with complete certainty that Greg’s gay bar idea is not for publicity. He is deathly serious about this.

      theweeklyargus

      August 20, 2010 at 9:47 pm

      • “Between the sheikhs” doesn’t really work in the UK as we pronounce it “shake”. But that reminded my of the late and much-missed Frank Zappa’s album “Sheikh Yerbouti” – now that would work as a bar name!

        One could be really naughty and imagine a neon sign of a turbanned gent on his hands and knees as if for prayer, and a bar entitled “Assume The Position”.

        I never really did political correctness……

        Rob

        August 29, 2010 at 3:12 am

  4. You should some of the anti-mosque blogs. They display the shocking but characteristic ignorance of the US right. I’ve asked one of them to tell me what he knows about Sufism. He has yet to respond.

    buddyhell

    August 20, 2010 at 2:43 pm

  5. It is not just Republicans who are against the building of the Mosque in that area. The latest polls show that 70% of Americans think it is in “bad taste” (that includes many Muslems). It has nothing to do with bigotry or racism. We have Mosques all over the country and that’s fine, thank you. Here’s the problem; The Imam has been quoted as saying 9/11 was our fault. His wife, Daisy (more tactfully)is quoted as saying; “The US is indirectly responsible for 9/11”.
    Former Mayor Guliani (who is affectionately referred to as the “Country’s Mayor”), is against the building at that site. The Governor has offered a different locale. The more I read about this, the more I believe it was a smart real estate venture on the part of the Imam and his wife. They purchased it for a song (5 million). The next day they were offered 20 Million dollars for it. I believe the company, SoHo Properties, was out to make a quick buck, relying on the almost certain objections by the majority of Americans. If these particular Muslems wanted to show their love of America and the American people, I would suggest a “Cultural Center” in Lower Manahttan, where bikini-clad women of all religions (or no religion) could swim in the planned swimming pool, or you, Peter, could wear your speedo to the planned gym :). One more thing, if the Mosque is supposed to cost 100 Million dollars (the Imam has admitted he will try to acquire funding from Iran and other Sharia-compliant ME countries), why not donate that money instead to the 9/11 Memorial or why donate it to Pakistan to aid the flood victims, or to Haiti? No, gentle souls, this Mosque will never be built. It is a real estate deal, plain and simple.

    little ole American

    August 20, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    • I agree. I think it’s in very bad taste and the Imam is self-evidently a nutter (or a very smart disciple of US capitalism).

      Can I refer you to my first comment in this thread where I wrote:

      I think the Islamic activists behind this are stupid and they demean their own beliefs by their provocation.

      Extremist Islam has to be resisted but not by abandoning our principles.

      Good always triumphs over evil in the end – and our willingness to sacrifice for it is a measure of our worth.

      Peter Reynolds

      August 20, 2010 at 3:49 pm

  6. […] As if that wasn’t bad enough Peter then goes and puts this up – “Republicans Reveal True Colours To Brits” […]

  7. PK, Pete. Amanutjob didn’t come up with the goods, so I haven’t blasted you to kingdom come.

    As if.

    Here’s the latest gentle dig. Though WordPress may already have sent it to you.

    http://keeptonyblairforpm.wordpress.com/2010/08/21/ground-zero-scott-wheeler-douglas-murray-and-my-ol-pal-peter/

    Off to kip.

    keeptonyblairforpm

    August 21, 2010 at 1:40 am

    • I’m getting to it. I’m getting to it. I am hugely flattered by even being in the headline. Would you like a photo – or two? Maybe even an autograph?

      Anyway, after walking the dogs I’ve been busy, busy, outraged and angry, getting down and dirty fighting for ‘is nibs. You should be proud of me!

      Peter Reynolds

      August 21, 2010 at 12:24 pm

      • Yes, I’d love a photo of you, P. And your autograph. Bottom rhs of the cheque’ll be fine.

        Great to see you fighting for Our Man. I’m VERY proud of you. I KNEW you were a good un, honestly. First time we met and nearly shot each other to Kingdom Come.

        keeptonyblairforpm

        August 21, 2010 at 10:00 pm

  8. Sorry. It’s late. I meant “OK, Pete.” You can alter it and delete this if you don’t want me cluttering up your site.

    The “edit” things at some blogs are useful. WP should use it.

    keeptonyblairforpm

    August 21, 2010 at 1:41 am

    • John,

      Unlike many, many others (I call them censors and abusers of the blogosphere), I couldn’t live with myself if I deleted or edited other people’s comments. I sympathise with your rant about the Liberal blog which I’m afraid I’ve only scanned so far, not read in detail.

      No whatever drivel, hyperbole or waffle you put up here will stay up here – as if you’d do a thing like that any way, eh John?

      Peter Reynolds

      August 21, 2010 at 12:22 pm

  9. […] Reynolds, the blogger gracious enough to leave a comment on one of my earlier entries. He had a post about Park 51 that I commented on. My comment expressed my sadness/frustration that Republicans are […]

  10. I see your chum BlairSupporter has linked approvingly here to an equally obnoxious (though less expensively-produced) video by Pat Condell. I had to look Mr Condell up as I’d never heard of him, but we can’t even blame him on the Americans.

    Rob

    August 29, 2010 at 4:03 am


Leave a Reply

