Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

A Real Insight Into The Police

with 2 comments

The conduct of the police has been in the news again this week for all the wrong reasons.  First there was the disgracegful, outrageous and deeply corrupt acquittal of the thug policeman, Sgt Delroy Smellie, who beat up Nicola Fisher at the G20 protest.  See the story here.  There’s also the CPS’ deplorable failure to bring to trial the police officer who was responsible for the death of Ian Tomlinson, also at the G20 protest.  See here.

Evenin' All

Evenin' All

In the course of writing about these events and reading other blogs I came across Inspector Gadget. This is a blog by a policeman for policemen (and women).  I’m not quite clear whether the author is a serving police inspector or not.  If he’s still in the job I’m not sure that it’s entirely proper for him to be writing as he is but I’m still considering my verdict on that.

Inspector Gadget does offer an extraordinary insight into the attitudes of serving police officers.  There are hundreds of comments demonstrating intelligence, passion, anger, professionalism and, in a few cases, crass stupidity and irresponsibility.  I’m reassured that there are many police officers who see that the acquittal of Smellie and the delay in prosecuting the murder of Ian Tomlinson causes enormous damage to the police.  I am very deeply disturbed though by the attitudes that far too many of Inspector Gadget’s contributors demonstrate.

Put Up With It. It's Your Job.

It is quite clear that many officers are psychologically unsuited to the job and are not “fit and proper” people to be given the authority and responsibility of a police constable.  Judging by some of the contributors who claim to be trained in “split second decision making” and the control of violent disorder, I’d say that some of them are bordering on psychopathic.  They shouldn’t be allowed on the streets at all, let alone in a police uniform.

I think Inspector Gadget should be much more widely read, certainly within the Home Office and by those (I wish I knew who they are) who have control over the strategic direction of policing and police recruitment.  There are attitudes demonstrated that suggest to me we should be opening a whole new wing at Brixton or, more probably, Broadmoor, for psychopathic, violent ex-police officers.

Obviously this won’t make me popular with some people and, as I don’t hide my identity, maybe I should be expecting a knock on the door in the middle of the night, but I cannot stand by and let attitudes such as these prevail.

You’re not entitled to complain about being shouted at, abused,  sworn at, threatened (within limits) or protestors not obeying your “orders”.  This is all part of the job.

Your standard of behaviour must be far, far higher than the protestors.  If you cannot control your temper, even in the face of extreme provocation, you shouldn’t be in the job.

I am a strong supporter of the police.  The necessary concomitant of that is that any officer who steps out of line or goes over the top must be punished severely, more severely than if they were a member of the general public.

Anyone who cannot see the wrong perpetrated by Smellie against Fisher and by Officer X against Tomlinson is not fit to be a police officer.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “You’re not entitled to complain about being shouted at, abused, sworn at, threatened (within limits) or protestors not obeying your “orders”. This is all part of the job”

    This is EXACTLY the kind of view which has lead to the current state of moral degradation and appalling behaviour we see every day on the streets of this country.

    As for a visit in the night; grow up. You are not important enough Love.

    “Should be much more widely read” cheeky beggar! I’ve had 3.5 million hits. How many do you get??

    inspectorgadget

    April 3, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    • I’d hoped to get a more intelligent and less aggressive reply from Inspector Gadget himself but I see you’re just as unpleasant as many of your contributors.

      Why do you feel the need to delete my comment on your blog? I won’t be deleting yours.

      Cheeky? I thought I was being nice to you but some coppers do have a problem understanding English. It’s not a competition you know. It’s about truth and justice, not hits – or maybe that’s exactly what its about for some policemen.

      (I get about 22,000 per week. Does that entitle me to an opinion?)

      Peter Reynolds

      April 3, 2010 at 5:52 pm


Leave a Reply

