Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Drug Crazed Politicians Promote Crime And Misery

with 13 comments

Sir Richard Nutt

Sir David Nutt

Gord stoned

"I'm so stoned...I don't know what I'm doing..."

Nothing more clearly demonstrates the complete absence of integrity in this inane, corrupt government than the sacking of Sir David Nutt.   I had always admired Alan Johnson.  Now he shows himself to be just as stupid and dumb as any of Gordon’s cronies.

Cannabis is a benign, natural herb that has been used as a medicine and recreational relaxant for over 4,000 years until politicians took a dislike to it just over 100 years ago.  Since then, despite dozens of “studies” across the world, each one of which has been specifically tasked to condemn it as dangerous, no harm has been proven.  Nevertheless, from Richard Nixon to Gordon Brown, myopic, paranoid, self-serving, tabloid-worshipping politicians have imposed more and more severe penalties for its use.

In the 50s the argument was that it made white women promiscuous with black men.  The standard of discussion has barely improved since.  The recent government sponsored hysteria over psychosis in adolescents is now revealed as utter nonsense in the face of the facts.

So why do politicians continue to persecute those who use cannabis?  What’s in it for them?  After all there is overwhelming evidence to show that a properly regulated cannabis supply could be a huge source of new taxation revenue for government and that regulation would drastically reduce all the harm that is caused by prohibition.

ajohn

Off His Head

It’s more difficult to accept this argument in respect of  heroin and cocaine because these are harmful substances but look at the evidence from Holland, Switzerland, Portugal and many other places.  There can be little doubt that if the supply and distribution of drugs was regulated rather than prohibited then the harm caused would be reduced enormously.  Furthermore, decriminalisation would drastically – and I mean DRASTICALLY – reduce crime at all levels.  Street crime is all about theft and robbery in order to fund the purchase of drugs.  International organised crime and terrorism is all about the drugs trade.  End prohibition, start regulation and you pull the rug from under criminals at all levels.  It would transform our society and save thousands of lives.

So I ask again – why?  What do politicians gain from such a fundamentally stupid policy?  At a stroke they could cut out the majority of both street and serious crime  and  massively reduce the funding of terrorism.

Cannabis was first demonised because hemp was an early rival to the oil industry.  Before diesel came biodiesel.  Rudolph Diesel designed his engine to run on peanut or hemp oil.  Henry Ford designed his Model T to run on bioethanol produced from hemp and planted hundreds of acres on his own farms for that purpose – then along came oil.  More importantly along came the early investors in the oil industry, specifically Randolph Hearst, owner and controller of the biggest propaganda and disinformation machine ever known to man.  He started the the “Reefer Madness” campaign and promoted the lie against cannabis.  Hemp was outlawed in favour of oil and we have since spent 100 years burning oil, becoming more and more reliant on its byproducts, destroying our planet and persecuting those who use cannabis.

cannabis plants

Politicans are cowards.  They were bribed and cajoled by big money to turn against cannabis in the first place.  They do not have the vision or the common sense to see past the mess they have got themselves in over drugs policy.  In a very real way they are more responsible than anyone else for the misery, death and chaos casued by the drugs trade which they actually support through their stupidity.

This government might as well have a committee of tabloid newspaper editors advising it on drugs rather than scientists.  All over the world politicans have let us all down over drugs policy.  Why?  Because they are cowardly, self-serving and only interested in short term political expediency.

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You talk about Randolph Hearst, but let’s not forget his buddy Harry Anslinger 😉

    It was clear what these two individuals gained from making cannabis illegal. What politicians nowadays gain from it is a good question. Maybe it is the oil and lumber industry lobbies that are still very powerful and afraid of Hemp being legal? Or maybe it is just that they are afraid of change?

    Dr. Robert Melamede has an interesting theory about this.. His hypothesis is that Backward Looking People tend to accumulate in politics.

    http://marijuanacannabis.wordpress.com/2009/06/26/bob-melamede-endocannabinoids/

    marijuanacannabis

    November 3, 2009 at 10:07 am

  2. I’ve been smoking cannabis off and on for over 30 years. Now when I have cannabis I can’t control my intake , first thing after breakfast the bong is lit. To me there is an addiction and I feel that it is physical as I have this kind of anxiety that demands a hit. Also I’m bi-polar 1 and the stuff get my head spinning towards mania. So for me the drug is harmful and addictive. I try not to smoke it. Oh yea I’ve had serious lung problems and I don’t smoke tobbaco .. I have my ganga straight.

    In short you’re talking shit saying cannabis is not harmful.

    Divine Mr.

    November 3, 2009 at 10:29 am

  3. Lots of things are harmful Mr. Devine. That doesn’t mean they should be illegal.

    If you actually read the post before you posted your reply you would have noticed the point Mr. Reynolds is trying to get across.

    Cannabis should be legal because the prohibition does more harm than it does good..

    marijuanacannabis

    November 3, 2009 at 12:50 pm

  4. So you admit it is harmful.
    No idea why it should be legalised. I used to think so, but now i reckon it would be sold like ciggies in newsagents, and for someone like me that’s too tempting. I prefer it difficult to obtain.

    I agree other things are bad for you too. Alcohol is one. I also have had a problem with alcohol. I never keep the stuff in the house and I don’t go to pubs much… temptation. I can control the intake of alcohol better than dope. In some ways I wish I never had either of them, both of them are shit. So many people talk and act shit when they take them, including myself.

    Yea i’ve read the article and its the same old pro-cannabis bullshit I heard thirty years ago.. I half believed it then. Nay keep it illegal and make it hard to get. I don’t want my kids fucking around the shit.

    And as Sadhus on the banks of Ganges chant, ‘BumShanka.’

    Divine Mr.

    November 3, 2009 at 1:14 pm

  5. If your kids want to “fuck” around with Cannabis they will do it anyway.. There is no drug policy in the world that is going to change that.

    What you forget is that there is also a lot of people for which cannabis has a very positive effect. They shouldn’t be punished because you can’t control yourself.

    I admit that it could be harmful to some people. Same can be said about Aspirin. http://vl.am/KSz

    The point that cannabis is far less harmful to the society as a whole if it was legal. This would mean that if my kids ever want to try it (and they probably will..) they could buy it from a trusted source and get proper information about what it does.

    I don’t know about you, but I much prefer this over having them buy it from some dodgy street dealer that would also sell them cocaine and methamphetamine.

    marijuanacannabis

    November 3, 2009 at 1:59 pm

  6. Actually there area number of countries that has eliminate cannabis use.. Singapore although I’m sure there has been the odd puff ( I had one back in 85 with a French Canadian who was stupid enough to bring it with him). In Japan too there is very little of the weed.

    I don’t want legalisation because it would increase the availability .. now it’s pretty difficult to get the stuff. My town has no street dealers. I like being sober. I know I’m a cannabis addict: if it’s dead easy to get then I wouldn’t be able to resist the temptation. And I know that it wouldn’t be any good for me. I know I’m happier on the whole when I don’t smoke. I used to think the opposite. it would be OK if I could just have the odd hit but I can’t.

    Incidently, the biggest hit you’ll ever get is a psychotic episode. Everything else is like a sip of your aunt’s sherry. You can’t beat madness, it’s fuckin rocket fuel. It’s thrilling and its scary. And a hit can last a few weeks or in my case months.

    Divine Mr.

    November 4, 2009 at 10:30 am

  7. Politicians are 10 years behind the times when it comes to hemp use. People have been fighting for a long time against marijuana and pot prohibition with some movement going on now. Still too slow for those caught up in the jail system for possessing a little weed. Our freedoms have been trampled on by folks who know nothing about how beautiful cannabis can be for someones life, if one learns how to grow cannabis. Keep up the good work.

    Eco Green

    December 1, 2009 at 3:15 am

  8. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

    low cost franchise opportunities

    Otto Kuick

    April 4, 2010 at 4:04 am

  9. A buddy of mine smokes both tobacco plus cannabis…

    shannon addict

    April 20, 2010 at 6:30 pm

  10. Is there virtually any legitimate risk of making legal hemp? I quite frankly can’t help beginning to feel the fact that there is some thing seriously entirely wrong with the concept…l

    sondra weed

    April 20, 2010 at 11:53 pm

  11. Drug crazed politicians promote more than just crime and misery; they promote violence.

    There is a comprehensive study which was released April 27th, 2010 by the International Centre for Science in Drug Policy (ICSDP) entitled ‘Effect of Drug Law Enforcement on Drug-Related Violence: Evidence from a Scientific Review’ which exposes an extensive correlation between drug law enforcement efforts and increased drug-related crime, homicide and gun violence. The Executive Summary ( found at http://www.icsdp.org/ & http://www.icsdp.org/research/publications.aspx ) demonstrates the commonalities between violence and the illicit drug trade in relation to the impacts of drug law enforcement interventions have on drug market violence.

    Wayne Phillips

    July 5, 2010 at 2:45 pm

  12. […] He has a sharp intellect and an easy charm with nothing of the snide trade union whinger that he might have been.   Then came Professor Nutt and, almost as never before, a politician’s true colours were revealed.  Not the gentle pink blush of embarrassment but a black deception and dishonour.  It was an astonishing position to take.  As David Nutt recalls, “Alan Johnson famously said in the House that he was “big enough, strong enough, bold enough” to sack me for saying cannabis was less harmful than alcohol.”  And he did.  See here. […]

  13. Very well written article. It will be helpful to everyone who usess it, including yours truly :). Keep doing what you are doing – for sure i will check out more posts.

    Johnetta Stephensen

    December 14, 2010 at 2:06 pm


Leave a Reply

