Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Women Are Violent Too

leave a comment »

The latest strictly politically correct announcement totally overlooks, again, the violence perpetrated by deceitful, wicked women against men.  I should know.  I spent five years locked in an abusive relationship with an apparently charming and sophisticated “lady” who would frequently beat me with her fists and anything else she could lay her hands on.

I vividly remember the day I retreated to a mutual friend around the corner who received me hesitatingly, sceptically and then with horror as I revealed a fresh, massive bruise covering half my arm.  “But she’s so sweet and gentle!”, she said.  “I can’t believe it!” but there was the evidence in front of her.

On one occasion she beat me with  a baseball bat until the blood drenched my hair and ran down my face.  On another she chased me from room to room with a pick axe handle and an X-ray later revealed a fracture of one of my vertabrae.

So it makes me very angry when the media and the police talk about domestic violence as if it’s always men attacking women.  Being a “battered husband” is much more common than I believed until I started talking about it.  Women get away with it much more easily.    They lie and weep and if you put your hands up to defend yourself then you’re the one who’s being aggressive.

Any violence is unacceptable but it would be good to see a more even hand smartly applied to what actually goes on in relationships.

Written by Peter Reynolds

March 10, 2009 at 11:13 am

Leave a Reply

