Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Back On The Wire

with one comment

I’m back.  Apologies to those who have missed my posts.  Thanks to the hundreds who have asked where I am.

Truth is that I was under the cloud of a vile, vicious, unforgiving flu virus.  If anything ever deserved the unremitting attentions of the Israeli Army and everything that Mossad has to offer then it was this.  Misery, depression, lack of motivation – nothing could have been more unforgiving and merciless in its attack.

I survived.  Perhaps Palestine will not.

As I emerged from under this dark cloud there was one thing that helped me through.  I have read about it for  months.  The HBO series, The Wire.  I have seen it described as the best thing ever on television.  These superlatives seemed different from most and as I immersed myself in the stories of Baltimore I understood why.

This is magnificent television. Wonderful characterisations not based on “star quality” or reputation but on acting ability.  Utterly credible dialogue, surely much of it improvised.

What seems at first glance as just another American cop show is revealed as the very best in drama, capturing every nuance of the human condition.

I pray for the people of Palestine.  I curse the evil Israeli state.  I look for hope in mutual understanding through drama like “The Wire”.

Written by Peter Reynolds

January 2, 2009 at 9:16 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HAMAS and your flu have seem to have a lot in common. Thankfully your flu wasn’t as lethal to you as HAMAS has been to the Palestinians.

    jonolan

    January 2, 2009 at 10:09 pm


Leave a Reply

