Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

…And He Can Walk On Water

with one comment

Or so Peter Mandelson would have us believe!  Congratulations to him.  If he can do it so can I.  I can reprise him too.  My first ever published article in the national press (The Independent) toyed with my confrontation with the man himself at the junction of Ledbury Road and Westbourne Grove.  It must have been about 1994.  I think around the time of his mortgage scandal. I was gently cycling southwards and as I crossed over this dishevelled, unshaven and grumpy looking character loped along the Westbourne Grove pavement and wanted to cross.  The look he gave me when I didn’t give way was enough to freeze the blood of any parliamentary minion and only then did I realise who he was

My abiding memory is of his crumpled shorts – so crumpled.  As if they’d been screwed up tight in his fist before beng worn.

And at the instant I think to myself “hasn’t he aged?”, I know the same must be true of me.  He has done so with dignity and now looks more the statesman than the aggressive spin doctor.

All hail Peter!  You’re back.  And in fine fettle!

Written by Peter Reynolds

October 3, 2008 at 5:49 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If Mandelson had goot ‘trade and industry’ credential, he could have been appointed as advisor, he should not, in my view, have been given a third chance in cabinet. To do so puts the whole election process into disrepute.

    UK Voter

    October 5, 2008 at 11:15 am


Leave a Reply

