Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, Eggs and Chickens

with one comment

I love eggs, particularly lightly scrambled with loads of butter, or lightly boiled. In both cases with lots of salt, black pepper and fresh granary bread (and more butter). I buy into the River Cottage campaign completely on all the bases of animal welfare, taste and nutritional value.

As you will have gathered, I am also a glutton, so I habitually go for the “Very Large Organic Free Range”. Every time I crack one it runs all over the pan and frequently breaks the yolk.

My father, who has not yet achieved enlightenment on this issue buys the cheapest he can get, usually packs of 15 from Sainsbury.

Regrettably, (and please can someone explain?!!) every time I cook breakfast at my parents’, every egg that I crack holds together tight and firm and upright, looks fresh, tastes better…

I don’t want this to be the truth but it is. Not just once but over a period of months. Something is wrong here. There is someone being dishonest about some stage in the egg process.

Can anyone explain?

Written by Peter Reynolds

July 3, 2008 at 4:39 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As I cast my mind back to the heady days of teenage sex, I remember that although “tight and firm and upright” was appealing, true quality was often slightly less glamorous. Back to the eggs, ours are fresh from the chickens next door and they too do not stand to attention like a factory egg. So as I revert to my middle aged self, I can thank heaven that quality is not always Barbie shaped. Ciao!

    Bruce

    July 8, 2008 at 12:10 pm


Leave a Reply

