Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Evidently My Work Is Succeeding!

with 65 comments

I have my very own hate website!  Somebody has gone to a great deal of time and trouble to put up a site all about me, seeking to… well I’m not sure what actually but you can judge for yourself: http://peterreynoldsmonitor.wordpress.com/.

I am hugely flattered and inspired by this.  Why would anyone go to all this trouble if my work wasn’t having a real and significant impact?

And this hasn’t been put together by some numpty.  I’m afraid it’s way, way beyond the ability of the LCA old guard.  Whoever the author is, he or she can write, spell and even construct a coherent sentence. The site is well put together.

Of course it is abusive, defamatory and infringes my intellectual property and copyrights from beginning to end.  I will be writing to WordPress asking them to take it down for those reasons – but not just yet, please allow me to revel in the flattery and attention just a little longer!

I think we can all recognise that this is a mark of progress.  For someone to use their evident intelligence and ability to attack me like this means I am succeeding.

I’m not a conspiracy theorist. I never have been.  All my experience of life teaches me that it’s cock up then cover up that is the reality behind most conspiracy theories.  However, I have been persuaded recently that there may well be undercover police or intelligence activity in the cannabis community.  It was the revelations about the undercover cop in the climate change movement that convinced me.  I mean the cannabis lobby has made so little progress and there’s been so much infighting.   How can so many people campaign for so long about something that is so self-evidently wrong and make no progress at all?

So this could well be undercover activity promoted by a government that wants to defend its policies.  I’ve been accused of being an undercover cop myself.  Derek Williams of UKCIA has enjoyed laying into me and questioning my past but I don’t think this is Derek.  It has some of his hallmarks and he has the ability but I give him credit for more integrity than that and he’s been very supportive to me about CLEAR and recent developments.

Anyway, the longer this goes on the more comfort we can take that we are making progress.  I certainly won’t be bothering to read the nonsense that’s being published.  It’s all innuendo, suggestion and “maybe” and “perhaps” and “possibly”.  In fact,  it rather reminds me of reading another report on cannabis and psychosis except that the courageous seeker after truth who has written it is grovelling in cowardly anonymity.  Let me be clear (!), I’ll happily answer any question about me or my past including the darker and more unhappy times (yes, I am human!) but not to some internet troll.  Let the author of this hate site publish his or her name, picture, email address and location online as I do and I’ll happily answer any questions.

Of course, the real disappointment will be that I don’t have any skeletons in my closet.  Oh, I have skeletons for sure but they’re all out in the open.

So that’s enough.  I won’t dignify this sordid little trickster by any further comment.  I am hugely flattered though, encouraged and inspired.  The war on prohibition is making progress!

65 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Let me make it clear I am not the author of that blog Peter and I have no idea who is.

    As Ocsar Wilde once said “There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about”.

    However, that said, please don’t close your ears to all criticism; some of it can be very valuable.

    Derek

    April 1, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    • Derek, all this juvenile shit has made me resign from all the FB weed groups.

      The way it’s going, it’ll be a long time before I return.

      Back to UKCIA!

      phil s

      April 1, 2011 at 9:36 pm

  2. Neither am I.

    Ian

    April 1, 2011 at 6:54 pm

  3. As I said, Derek, I don’t think you are. I credit you with more decency and integrity than that. It is you, however, who has questioned my credentials in the past (which you’re perfectly entitled to do) so several people have already suggested to me that it is you.

    As for criticism, I am always listening to it! Leadership is about judging when to adjust one’s course and when to power on. I’m quite sure I don’t always get it right but I try my best.

    I just posted this comment on your site. Are there any questions you still want answered?

    I’m hugely flattered by it actually. I must be making an impact for someone to go to so much time and trouble!

    http://peterreynolds.wordpress.com/2011/04/01/evidently-my-work-is-succeeding/

    Quite genuinely, I feel inspired by it. It gives me a real sense that I am making progress.

    Derek has certainly asked some questions about me in the past but let me be CLEAR, I’m perfectly ready to answer any question about me that anyone thinks remains unanswered – but not to some internet troll, grovelling in anonymity.

    Anything that anyone wants to know, just ask me on Facebook, at http://www.peter-reynolds.co.uk or email me at peter@peter-reynolds.co.uk.

    I have nothing to hide. My goal is to end the prohibition of cannabis and that’s what I’m focused on.

    Peter Reynolds

    April 1, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    • So Duncan, once your crusade against the prohibition of Canabis has been fulfilled (sounds like the prohibiion of alcohol in the USA) : next one will be….heroin?

      Anyway, now that smoking ciggarettes (Benson and Hedges, Marlborough types I mean), is being prhobited in enclosed public spaces; I will not be at all surprised if those substances, let alone Cannabis will be allowed to be smoked outside the confines of a room either.

      I suspect your crusade may be scuppered by the Government (whoever they may be) by making smoking anything: tobbacco or otherwise, a criminal offence.

      Just a thought given the Nanny State which has been built up over the last 15 years.

      And before you go on one of your rants at me, remember I am against any sort of use of drugs, particularly those whihc are supposedly “recreational”. I have enough problems with the compulsory drugs I take for my epilepsy.

      In any case, the experience I have with drugs used by hospitals in the field of Cancer; is thatit is not usually the Cancer that kills the patient, it is renal failure as a result of using the drugs !

      The Debt Collector

      April 2, 2011 at 5:14 pm

      • You’re confused as usual DC. Which website are you on?

        Peter Reynolds

        April 2, 2011 at 6:33 pm

      • Substitute ‘planet’ for ‘website’ and you have it in a nutcase, err…. ‘shell’.

        NobblySan

        April 3, 2011 at 11:34 am

      • He’s late for the tea party again and he’s forgotten to take his meds.

        Drink this!

        Peter Reynolds

        April 3, 2011 at 12:06 pm

      • A lot of people have their own web-site, Peter- so what is the big deal?

        How does having your own web-site mean that you are succeeding in decriminalising Cannabis?

        Perhaps you need to STOP taking you “meds” before your thoughts become more distorted. Drugs, of what ever nature will kill you eventually. Usually renal failure (and please don’t come out with the obvious response: ” DC you are talking out of your arse….” (ho ho ho)
        Yes Peter, certainly Cannabis has taken its toll on you and other addicts.

        The Debt Collector

        April 3, 2011 at 12:18 pm

      • DC, how can I put this? Well I don’t have to really do I? Just keep digging!

        Peter Reynolds

        April 3, 2011 at 12:35 pm

      • Not Duncan, you are the confused one Peter. You would understand the point better if you stayed of your drugs for a couple of days and then read it again.

        My point is: if the Government are banning smoking of tobbacco in Public Areas (which will come now it is banned inside pubs) I don’t see that you have a hope in hell of getting cannabis freely avaialable and legal to smoke anywhere.

        The Debt Collector

        April 3, 2011 at 12:49 pm

      • You’re slipping into abuse now DC and it doesn’t suit you. Your moods and point of view are so variable, I confess, sometimes I haev difficulty keeping up with you. One day you’re railing against prohibition, the next you’re condemning all drug use and calling cannabis addictive.

        Alright, I confess, I’m the one that’s confused!

        Peter Reynolds

        April 3, 2011 at 1:05 pm

      • Peter, it must be addictive: you keep using it.

        As for college degrees, I have met people with half the alphabet of degrees after their name, but wouldn’t let them run a bath.

        I have to agree with your comment about the relevance of Cannabis to the Jewish faith. Why do you see the legalisation of Cannabis so important?

        The more I contradict you, the more fanatical you appear to be. Is it because the Cannabis craving drives you to this level of abuse?
        Phew !

        The Debt Collector

        April 3, 2011 at 7:14 pm

      • My “comment about the relevance of Cannabis to the Jewish faith”?

        You’re hallucinating.

        Peter Reynolds

        April 3, 2011 at 8:49 pm

      • You ought to stop there – you’re rapidly turning into The Debit Collector…

        pjmcneill

        April 3, 2011 at 4:59 pm

  4. That hateful weblog site seems to be an outright attack, which is as you say Peter a good sign when you consider the following truism stated by Gandhi….

    First they ignore you, then they ridicule you, then they fight you, then you win.

    Dan

    April 1, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    • I appreciate the sentiment very much Dan and peteKD. Today, I find myself under attack as being prejudiced against Jews and by another section as prejudiced against Muslims. All these strange people trying to use these specious arguments to disrupt my work on – cannabis?

      Can you understand it?

      Peter Reynolds

      April 2, 2011 at 10:01 pm

  5. “First they ignore you, then they ridicule you, then they fight you, then you win.” Mahatma Gandhi
    keep up the good work Pete most are behind you 100%

    pete KD

    April 1, 2011 at 7:38 pm

  6. soz dan didnt mean to write same thing lol

    pete KD

    April 1, 2011 at 7:39 pm

  7. Hi Peter

    I am, it’s true, more than a little puzzled how a writer can have – as far as I can tell – zero internet presence pre 2007 or so. Any other profession I could understand, but writers and people interested in self publicity (as you once described yourself to me) tend to get noticed by google. It does look odd, you must admit.

    You also claim to have 30 years of cannabis campaigning under your belt, yet I nor anyone else I’ve spoken to had heard of you prior to late last year. That doesn’t prove anything of course, but it does seem odd to someone like myself who has been following this issue quite closely for the past 20 years or so.

    But all that said I pay by results. The lack of success of the LCA has indeed been staggering and you seem to be doing what is needed.

    Cannabis has hardly been our of the news for the past 10 years, it beggers belief that a campaign could have been so unsuccessful as the old LCA has been.

    I tried without luck to make the sort of changes in the LCA You seem to be promising and was dismissed as being disruptive, which is why I do strongly support what you say you want to do with CLeaR.

    I will continue to be critical, but I will also be supportive when you do good things and I will always do so in my own name.

    UKCIA is: http://ukcia.org/wordpress/?page_id=2

    Derek

    Derek

    April 1, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    • Derek, see this thread on the old LCA forum:

      http://www.lca-uk.org/lcaforum/mcp.php?i=main&mode=post_details&f=93&p=75909&sid=d379f2b09bd944be6a0bada40f131d62

      I can give you more detail if you want.

      Peter Reynolds

      April 1, 2011 at 8:32 pm

      • Sorry Peter, that link doesn’t work – I need to log in to see it apparently and as I’m banned from the LCA forum I can’t.

        Derek

        April 1, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      • Alun wrote:

        Yesterday I was talking with a local LCA member that never voted in the recent polls, and explaining that peter was elected by an overwhelming majority – although i point out that a number of members – was it 8? voted “both” so Stewart actually got 9 votes.

        I was asked who is Peter and what did I know about him. I know very little – I do think it would be good to know a little more, for members, prospective members and even ex-members.

        I know Peter is a freelance journalist, has a well-read blog, helped out with Pinky when he went to court, joined the LCA two months ago, and that he says he has been campaigning for cannabis legalisation for 30 years.

        With respect, not asking for too much personal info, I would politely ask:

        are you married? do you have children? if so, what do they feel about this election success?
        are you or have you been a member of any political party?
        have you ever stood for election other than this one?
        what jobs have you done/
        have you ever had a criminal record?
        have you any academic qualifications?
        are you a member of any professional bodies?
        have you ever worked for any Government Department?
        Have you ever been bankrupt?
        do you consider yourself in any way disadvantaged?
        have you had many letters / articles published in the last 30 years?
        do you follow any religion or belief system?
        how much authority as LCA leader do you think you should have, given that the LCA Constitution stipulates that authority lies with the Admin team – would you want to change that?

        I’ll post this in the election results thread too

        Peter wrote:

        I am more than happy to answer Alun’s questions. However, I have now posted a new thread “Immediate Plans Following My Election As Leader” and that is where to go to discuss the future.

        Q. are you married? do you have children? if so, what do they feel about this election success?

        A. I have been married twice. I now live alone with two dogs! My profile is here: http://peterreynolds.wordpress.com/biography/.

        I have two boys: Richard, aged 24 who did PPE at UEA and has just completed a post graduate diploma in law; Evan, aged 21, who had a life changing experience five years ago when he lost his left hand in a road accident. He has risen to the challenge magnificently and is now at UWE in Bristol studying property development. They both know all their Dad’s idiosyncracies and are supportive. Richard is helping me with drafting the constitution.

        Q. are you or have you been a member of any political party?

        A. I was a member of The Freedom Association, probably 30 years ago for a short while and I’ve been a member of the Conservative Party on and off but not for about three or four years now. I have voted Tory most of my life. During the Blair years I spoiled my ballot papers, writing “no suitable candidate” across them. Last year I voted UKIP in the European elections and Tory in the general election.

        Q. have you ever stood for election other than this one?

        A. No

        Q. what jobs have you done

        A. I was a salesman originally, moving into advertising sales which led me into training as a copywriter. I then worked in advertising agencies for 15 years finishing up as a creative director at Saatchi & Saatchi in the early 1990s. I also did a bit of freelance journalism along the way. I then worked as a freelance communications consultant mainly in healthcare and medicine. Simultaneously my journalism career was progressing. I had a regular column in the Independent for a while and then various editorial roles on publications for doctors and about healthcare and pharmaceuticals. I now make my living principally as a freelance writer and journalist. I have just started my third novel.

        Q. have you ever had a criminal record?

        A. I’m probably entitled to answer no to that as my convictions are spent but let’s get all the skeletons out of my closet.!

        Yes, I was convicted of an offence of dishonesty about 12 years ago. Also, when I was 17, I spent a month in prison abroad for possession of three tabs of acid and two grams of weed! It doesn’t show up if you check me out so I’m not about to volunteer any further information!

        Also, I spent three months in Brixton prison on remand in 2003. I was charged with assaulting my girlfriend. The charges were dropped when eventually the medical reports revealed a long list of injuries on me and not a scratch on her. She had attacked me with a baseball bat. Obviously I would not have chosen to spend three months inside but it is an experience I value immensely!

        Q. have you any academic qualifications?

        A. Seven “O” levels

        Q. are you a member of any professional bodies?

        A. No

        Q. have you ever worked for any Government Department?

        A. I have worked as a communications advisor to several health authorities, NHS Trusts, the Ministry of Defence and the British Forces in Germany.

        Q. Have you ever been bankrupt?

        A. In the late 1980s I undertook the development of a small 60 acre farm which was valued at £1.75 million. After the crash, in 1992 I was forced into a sale for £400,000. I was made bankrupt thereafter and fully discharged two years later.

        Q. do you consider yourself in any way disadvantaged?

        A. No

        Q. have you had many letters / articles published in the last 30 years?

        A. Dozens on many subjects.

        If you’re asking about my record as a cannabis campaigner, I would say that it has been in bursts. In the late 1970s, I wrote the report “An Unaffordable Prejudice” for the Home Affairs Committee and many letters to newspapers, MPs and ministers. In the 1980s not so much. In the 1990s a little more regularly but as an “armchair campaigner”. As I’ve said elsewhere, my passion for the cause was re-ignited when I moved out of London in 2007 and realised how the evidence of medicinal benefit was becoming overwhelming. I started my blog in 2008.

        Q. do you follow any religion or belief system?

        A. I call myself an agnostic. I believe in a God which is a supreme intelligence or collective consciousness. Although there are many good people who are religious and I respect faith, I think that organiised religion has been responsible for more evil in the world than almost anything else.

        Q. how much authority as LCA leader do you think you should have, given that the LCA Constitution stipulates that authority lies with the Admin team – would you want to change that?

        A. I would wish to do everything by consensus with the management committee and membership. As mentioned, I have now posted a new thread “Immediate Plans Following My Election As Leader” and that is where to go to discuss the future.

        I hope that answering these questions has been useful.

        Peter Reynolds

        April 1, 2011 at 9:17 pm

      • Cheers, Peter – you still get my vote, mate.

        pjmcneill

        April 1, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    • Agreed Derek, since Peter is such a “strong campaigner for legalisation of the weed”; it is indeed odd that until I found this site, I had never heard of Peter.

      Alternatviely like me he is using a pseudonym when on web-sites like this as opposed to the Nationanl Campaign.

      The Debt Collector

      April 3, 2011 at 12:23 pm

      • Catch up DC, please catch up!

        Peter Reynolds

        April 3, 2011 at 12:36 pm

      • No Peter, I have over-taken you. It that cannabis slowing down your response time.

        The Debt Collector

        April 3, 2011 at 12:58 pm

      • Interesting. Considering that when I was at college once upon a time there was an Asian lad who would smoke the stuff every day and even come into lessons completely high. Why is it then he could leave with maximum UCAS points (interesting how it’s 420) with A’s and I think one B in good subjects too. He was convinced weed made him smarter.

        Since you can talk bullshit about “response time” and “addiction”, which are clearly assumptions which are debunked if anything by evidence, am I not just as correct to go around saying anyone who doesn’t smoke will find themselves far more likely to suffer from “cannabis slowing your response time” being the “torturer that never stops!”? Ha!

        Stephen

        April 3, 2011 at 6:10 pm

      • And the relevance of College is….

        I have met people with half the alphabet after their name, went to college, Universtiy got a Degree, and then went in to a business which bore no relevance to that degree.

        Actually I do know about response time and addicions etc because I nearly became additicted to Phenobarbitone when was 11, and only got off it by fluke. The drug is now a Classified “A” Drug, but back in the 1960& 70s given out like sweeties.

        Given the way I have seen the behaviour of people who are having a puff; they certainly do seem to have a delayed response time. Although I acknowledge that Phenobarbitone could flatten me for a few hours as a child. Then again, it turned out later that I was on an adult dose !

        Any way enjoy your renal failure ! Maaaan

        Chris R

        May 16, 2011 at 8:16 pm

  8. Reading Derek’s post I was struck with the lyrics of Bobby Dylan.. especially the verse that goes..

    Come mothers and fathers
    Throughout the land
    And don’t criticize
    What you can’t understand
    Your sons and your daughters
    Are beyond your command
    Your old road is
    Rapidly agin’.
    Please get out of the new one
    If you can’t lend your hand
    For the times they are a-changin’….

    It immediately popped into my head when reading Dereks post.

    No internet history pre 2007, call out the guard, CALL OUT THE GUARD.. it’s no big deal for me and people around me, it what is happening NOW that counts, and one of the best opportunities to present itself to the canna community is being missed by self centred selfish git or gits who think they are somehow doing us a service. I would have more respect for you Derek and others in the canna activist circles if you had actually moved to condemn the blog for the sad sad sad attempt to destroy what is the best opportunity in my lifetime to get something done or at least make definite progress.

    …and dont criticize what you cant understand.. were the exact song that came rushing into my head.

    wise man is bob.

    l Catt

    April 1, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    • No internet history is an amazing achievement for a writer and a publisher LCatt, whatever your opinion.

      Bob was right to say don’t criticise, but he didn’t say don’t question and you should always question what you don’t understand.

      Derek

      April 1, 2011 at 8:52 pm

  9. There is a difference between questioning and malice derek, I detect malice in some form or other in everything you have to say regarding peter, you may not realise it but from the outside it looks like you are seething away there and using any old excuse in the book to keep the spoon stirring away rather than take a few moments to actually condemn that blog.

    What is the greater evil here?

    Your not being able to find anything online about Peter pre 2007?

    or

    Someone trying to harm one of the best opportunities we have seen here for a long long time by compiling an incredibly sad blog full off envy bitterness and bile?

    l Catt

    April 1, 2011 at 9:58 pm

  10. Well I think it’s worth getting behind Peter, for better or worse he has given the movement a kick up the arse. Now to increase exposure outside of the cannabis reform scene methinks!

    Sam

    April 1, 2011 at 10:31 pm

  11. I reckon it’s something to do with those “Nazionist thugs”….

    pjmcneill

    April 2, 2011 at 12:06 am

    • Yeah, could be! Mossad!

      Peter Reynolds

      April 2, 2011 at 1:00 am

  12. Well I have my differences with Peter, mostly about his sometimes contradictory style, use of sarcasm, rebukes instead of answers and other such things, but that most recent post on the “other” Blog and some of the statements, are in my opinion, ridiculous!

    Even I will cry foul at such statements whether the person getting it is friend or foe.

    In the screen grabs given it seems to me he makes “factual observations” on issues such as immigrants and the like, observations I dare say that a majority would often agree with. Just because someone states such observations or concerns on such issues, does not make them a racist or a far-right extremist. This kind of allegation smacks of the devious tactics from the equally repugnant far-left to me. The wording and subjects used certainly screams it to me.

    He has been open on here in his latest comment and that should be recognised. I already knew about the Brixton remand thing as he openly told me that himself face to face. I frequently help Fathers in the Family courts fighting for their kids, many of whom have been falsely accused of domestic violence, something that is now almost an epidemic today. I know full well the stigma’s attached to such even if the guy is completely innocent, so for that alone he has earned a big lump of respect in my book.

    Whoever is running that Blog, you have just shot yourself in the foot with that recent post. That was not the way to go about it.

    Ian

    April 2, 2011 at 12:32 am

  13. At some point somebody just HAD to come along, kick some arses and take our fight forward. That’s what Peter is doing right now. I sense a very tough skin, and its no doubt going to be needed in the months ahead, but I know that he wont be distracted or lose focus. He is gathering an army of equally hard and determined ‘warriors’ around him and collectively ‘we’ will prove a force to be reckoned with AT LAST.

    Lee Gramson

    April 2, 2011 at 9:17 am

  14. well it was going to happen, we all knew it, the website in question is clearly by a member of uk420, as all the posts seem to come from there, many moons ago, an anti LCA website was opened, that was in effect the most disgusting, vile and upsetting thing to see, until now. seems to me the very mi5 agent, is the one making the anti peter blog, why would anyone go to such lengths to destroy a campaign that hasnt actually released its plan forward yet? sour grapes? i have to admit, the whole thing has left me with lots of my own questions, mainly about who is real and who is not, no offence to Derek, but he has done much to destroy the LCA on uk420, hes like the school kid with the gossip, even when nobody really cares, he cant help but bang on to uk420 about whats going on, but uk420 have been clear that most their memebers will not support the legalisation of cannabis because they think cannabis should be treated like a tomato, and thats the short and tall of it really, for some reason there is a huge growers forum that seems ANTI EVERYTHING that gets publicity, unless its by their trusted Danzig, so granny pat, pinky starr, lca, and many others, medical groups, medical users, people wanting a law change, are attacked almost on their first post.

    its gonna be a long time before the rifts heal, i have to admit, i dont like the way some of the “old guard” lca have been treated, its not nice and it does seem harsh, that these things couldnt be resolved.

    more jaw jaw, less war war, is the moto of the day.

    with polite and kind words we will get further than bring ourselves down to the level of that blog, you must appreciate that there will be people who doubt the bigger picture, give them time – do not react so angily, try and UNDERSTAND why those whom have long term relationships with “the old guard” may be feeling very defenceless at the moment, what they knew has gone, however it was judged, it was a community and now there meeting place has been “taken” over – even if they voted for it, prehaps in a way they hadnt expected. some of their friends, real friends have been dismissed or have walked away it leaves people questioning what will happen, and why their friends have reacted in such a way

    Why cant we ALL just get along, or get a bong?

    it really disturbs me that so many grown men are acting like school kids, fighting in the playground that is the world wide web, for everyone to see, judge and think upon.

    softley slowley, catchy monkey….

    PLEASE release CLEAR to the public NOW, and get the show on the road, any more delays will see the campaign grow weaker still, we need to unite, not fight.

    itshappeningalloveragain....

    April 2, 2011 at 11:28 am

    • Thanks for your comment. Believe me, please, extraordinary efforts have been made to be gentle and kind and respectful to the old guard. However, we are on a democratically determined path and when people start to behave dishonestly and seek to subvert our work, then I and the committee have to take steps to defend the membership.

      Peter Reynolds

      April 3, 2011 at 9:13 am

  15. I actually thought this was an April Fools joke for a minute!

    Matthew Lilley

    April 2, 2011 at 5:20 pm

  16. “PLEASE release CLEAR to the public NOW, and get the show on the road, any more delays will see the campaign grow weaker still,… ”

    I agree with that, the old site isn’t serving any purpose now.

    “we need to unite, not fight.”

    Who is this “we”? What is needed is a strong, intelligent, coherent campaign. It will pick up support from those who support it, but there will always be those who don’t.

    Derek

    April 2, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    • I have finally managed to persuade my colleagues on the CLEAR Executive Committee that we must take down the old LCA web site. As I have said before, it is embarrassing. It should be offline by the morning although we will be retaining the content as an historical archive. A temporary CLEAR holding page will be up within the next day or so. A full web site is in development.

      It may be of interest to those watching the scurrilous oiks seeking to discredit me that this site is now being spammed by repeated posts suggesting that I am in some way linked to the EDL!!

      When the truth is finally understood, I shall expect appropriate judgement to be passed on those idiotic, malicious and cowardly trolls that are responsible for this spiteful and dishonest campaign.

      Meanwhile, in response to requests for evidence of my earlier career, I am posting this pdf file. It’s the cover of an instructional video I made about the Amstrad PC back in 1986.

      It even has a little biography about me on the back which I think pretty much scotches the more absurd speculation that the numpties have been indulging in.

      (No rude comments about my moustache now!)

      http://peterreynolds.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/amstrad-video.pdf

      Peter Reynolds

      April 2, 2011 at 7:32 pm

      • …or the fact he had more hair back then :-)

        Ian

        April 3, 2011 at 7:57 am

      • And here is some more evidence of my earlier career, an article I wrote in 1980, 31 years ago, for a magazine called Mind Your Own Business.

        This was in the days when the very idea of a word processor was almost magical. I had just helped set up a business using WP to produce direct mail.

        http://peterreynolds.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/myob-article.png

        Peter Reynolds

        April 3, 2011 at 12:09 pm

      • Oh, Peter, I’ve discovered your scandalous past – charging £19.95 for a VHS video in 1986! That must have been almost the cost of the Amstrad! Did you sell many?

        pjmcneill

        April 3, 2011 at 5:11 pm

      • After Alan Sugar sued me for the typeface being too close to the Amstrad logo, I had to re-print all the covers. I put the price up to £39.95 and sold 5000!

        Peter Reynolds

        April 3, 2011 at 5:39 pm

      • Ha! Ha! Ha!

        I’m sure it would have been more in his interests to invest in your company.

        pjmcneill

        April 3, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    • and thats the problem derek, if everyone deflated their overswelling egos, and just got together to change the law, then we wouldnt need to go through all these silly schoolground behaviour, and watch grown up men behaving like boys by tittletattling and causing disruption, not only to the LCA/CLEAR but to the cannabis campaign in general, if you continue with your behaviour you will be responsible for more damage than anybody has ever caused within this “community” of people who wish to see one law changed, if you dont want to see the law changed why do you have a website, or will you shirk everything else because you want to be the website that changed the law, no offence but UKCIA is just a forum, i dont see much action coming from your team?

      itshappeningalloveragain....

      April 3, 2011 at 12:34 pm

  17. all the active members have worked wonders over thease last few months in my eyes and i voted for peter and i am still behind peter 100% only time will tell if his motives are true and untill such times we all need to let the active members get on with it.

    great work peter!!!

    dave

    April 2, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    • Thank you Dave.

      Peter Reynolds

      April 2, 2011 at 7:33 pm

  18. Considering the LCA have managed absolutely fuck-all since I’ve been following the site & uk420 is mainly a grow site I can’t see what the bitching is about.

    It’s obvious that we are starting to get noticed and some people (like govt helper on the yourfreedom website) are starting to worry that their lies are going to be uncovered and the whole pharma/drinks industry monopoly is going to be broken.

    From my point of view decrimininlisation/legalisation can’t come soon enough & may actually be accelerated by the lack of police officers to actually enforce the MODA-71.

    Afterall it’s my tax money that pays their wages and where I work are not replacing people that leave so if I get busted & loose my job that tax revenue will also be lost plus it will cost them £45K to lock me up for a year.

    Mr Bimble

    April 2, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    • Funny you should say that about the police, Mr Bimble, because recently I have been musing that the Police Federation (probably not ACPO) are going to announce that they will no longer be pursuing cannabis users, or even drug users, in order to rationalise their reduced resources.

      Now wouldn’t that put the cat amongst the pigeons!

      pjmcneill

      April 3, 2011 at 4:19 pm

  19. It’s no me !!!

    duncanr

    April 3, 2011 at 11:23 am

    • Oh Duncan, I was hoping to blame you for everything!

      Peter Reynolds

      April 3, 2011 at 12:10 pm

  20. Peter, it was not inteded to be an abusive statement.

    I am stating that since they have banned smoking ordnary tobbacco in Pubs and “enclosed spaces”; what chance do you have with cannbis.

    As for your confusion regarding my stance on Cannabis, indeed drugs which are proscribed, then I will clarify that I am against drug taking. As I also mentioned in earlier submissions, I am epileptic and on some pretty serious medication to control that, but taking those drugs is not through choice.

    I strongly suspect that it will not be the epilepsy which kills me, but renal failure to the concoction of drugs that I am on for the epilepsy.

    The Debt Collector

    April 3, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    • Debt Collector, prescribed drugs is my cross to bear too. My cocktail has been forced on for 22 years now, and my organs have taken a hammering from them, truly a hammering.

      Like you, that road of forced fed drugs leaves you anti all substances, I can’t drink or take caffeine, so I was about as “prohibitionist” as you can get.

      Only a few years ago I researched cannabis with a view of why I shouldn’t take it given the health benefits I had heard. After looking at it from a negative platform, the sources and reports I read – at primary source and not newspaper’s lucid interpretation – my eyes were left widened. Cannabis really is a safe option for many of us, it can be termed a miracle to the individual. Please bear this in mind when you jibe at the concept of cannabis like you have. By perpetuating outdated stereotypes of the substance, it directly hinders what I and so many others are trying to do.

      Besides, the days of defending cannabis as a concept are long retired, we really need to address prohibition harms and every person that is in the centre of the ‘drugs war’. It doesn’t matter if you’re a medical user or a recreational user, this is a war on people’s choice. It is some people’s choice to not use alcohol in favour of another substance, and it is my choice to not use genuinely toxic prescribed drugs in favour of a natural source.

      • Agreed, I have a back injury and have some nerve damage which is manageable but randomly flairs up – So I have the choice co-codamol 30/500′s at 4-8 per day or a couple of cannabis cookies a day when it does.

        having suffered the side effects of long-term prescription drugs and the withdrawal symptoms when I tried stopping taking them I know which works best for me & I shouldn’t be criminalised for seeking alternative form of pain relief.

        Mr Bimble

        April 3, 2011 at 5:43 pm

  21. I see the PR Monitor site is down now. Hope you manage to get some prosecutions.

    EineKleineRob

    April 3, 2011 at 8:27 pm

  22. If you are not rattling their cage then you are doing something wrong.

    Chris Bovey

    April 4, 2011 at 10:27 am

  23. Bizarre how bitterness manifests itself online and hugely embarrassing for the creator of that website. I can’t access it directly I but read the Facebook thread about it on your profile, frankly I cringe when I read online arguments, not your fault mind you have to defend yourself against such attacks. Political infighting makes me sick, that is why I cant wait for the coalition to end.
    I must say I do agree that word Cannabis is riddled with negative connotations and a lot needs to be done to correct this. I want to help promote the benficial aspects of the plant.
    PS Peter, when did you work for IBM?
    http://www.my1mindwordpress.com

    Will Gibson

    April 4, 2011 at 11:36 am

    • I worked on a number of advertising/communications projects with IBM when I was a creative director at CAM Galaxy Marketing in the late 90s. We had an ex-IBM man, Terry Cartwright, who brought in the business.

      Peter Reynolds

      April 4, 2011 at 12:07 pm

  24. sorry the link to my blog is wrong:
    http://www.my1mind.wordpress.com

    Will Gibson

    April 4, 2011 at 11:38 am

  25. “How can so many people campaign for so long about something that is so self-evidently wrong and make no progress at all?”

    look at this http://www.facebook.com/#!/note.php?note_id=201969206480151

    daniel carter

    April 5, 2011 at 12:58 am

  26. saw the site – and wow just wow :S – what stuck me most was the hillarity of the bit saying your anti cannabis law being changed when what you do is actually try and change the law with cannabis.

    timez

    May 16, 2011 at 6:06 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

