Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Home Office Plays A Cruel Game Of Media Spin

with 14 comments

There is no logic nor common sense nor science nor rationale in UK government drug policy.  Everyone knows that.  Nearly every commentator, scientist, doctor, even most politicians in private, acknowledge that there is no reasonable basis for our current drug laws.   They do more harm than good and in the process they waste billions of pounds in law enforcement costs and create massive harm to society and to public health.   The report issued today by Professor Nutt and his colleagues reveals the appalling incompetence of our drug policy.  See here.

Monster

Unlike every other country in Europe, the UK places drug policy in the hands of the Home Office rather than the Department of Health.  Nothing reveals the idiocy of this more than the current debacle over medicinal cannabis.  See BBC Inside Out London tonight at 7.30pm or here on the iPlayer tomorrow.

What is truly disgraceful about the Home Office is the way it plays the media game with complete disrespect for and by ignoring citizens to whom it owes a duty of care.  While it issues conflicting messages to the media, it fails to respond at all to dozens of individuals suffering from debilitating diseases who have sought its advice on obtaining their medicine.  Hundreds of individuals have written repeatedly to the Home Office but have received no reply. The conduct of the minister responsible for this scandalous episode, James Brokenshire, can only be described as cruel, negligent and irresponsible. While the rest of us may debate the political issues around drug laws, thousands continue in pain and suffering while this monster continues his game of media spin.

There is no justice or truth in government drug policy but in this instance there is blatant evil and disregard for human suffering in James Brokenshire.  The man is a disgrace and not fit to hold public office.

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well said; Since 1968 three generations of my family have been terrorised in their homes over the drug laws. Those who needed help were criminalised and abused as were those who needed no help. Its immoral and obscene to treat our population like dirt and then lie to maintain prohibition.

    Philip Walsh

    November 1, 2010 at 8:09 pm

  2. Hi Peter, as before I generally agree with all that you say however is it not reasonable to assume Brokenshire’s propaganda is simply the party line? Whilst, I agree that he portrays himself as the text book ‘tosser’ it may well be for the better of the party rather than the individual. I’m 100% behind your ideals however, surely we are above individual specific demonization. I could be wrong as I have a tendency to see good where there is in fact non? What real evidence is there that he is the brain behind the words. I suspect otherwise!
    This campaign needs a champion such as your good self. Good and ‘normal’ being key attributes to the success of the campaign if the mass voter is to be convinced.
    Like it or not, we have to meet these people on their own playing field. I don’t suggest that we take up spin and blatantly ignore the facts…oh no.. the fight has to be seen as fair and guided by moral integrity and scientific fact (This is what the Daily Mail reader believes government policy is based on). Imagine the out rage of all those pathetic Daily Mail readers who might simply think that you are picking on the poor little Brokenshire…. such a nice boy and always so smart … the voice of reason…
    Your the best, by far, at fighting this cause but its essential that we play according to ‘their’ rules otherwise we alienate ourselves…Not based on the policy, rather our basic behaviour.
    Truly Peter, do you think he speaks his mind or the party line or am I simply a stoner full of love for his fellow man?

    Nick

    November 1, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    • Nick, I value the points you make but surely there has to be some integrity in politics? What Brokenshire promotes is nothing less than evil. “The party line” is no excuse. Surely we have to stand up against lies and deceit and speak the truth? What is the point of playing by “their rules” when they are dishonest?

      Peter Reynolds

      November 2, 2010 at 11:32 am

  3. Isn’t the legend “Monster” somewhat of a compliment on a Halloween posting?

    Simon Burgess

    November 2, 2010 at 10:45 am

    • Well what would you prefer? The man is a weasel with no interest except his personal advantage. He defines the useless, hypocritical parasite that so many British politicians have become.

      Peter Reynolds

      November 2, 2010 at 11:21 am

  4. Peter I do agree totally with you. What a pile of seathing pus that this man is. A real danger to society and even a psychopath.

    Architect

    November 2, 2010 at 11:28 am

  5. Hang on a minute! I may need your help. Please can anyone name a politician who isn’t a weasel with nothing but his/her own interests at heart. I get that he’s not very likeable .. I don’t really like the fella myself but, aren’t we digressing just a little? I’m not trying to defend him.. I’d sooner defend Vanessa Feltz and trust me, even under torture this could never happen but, is personally attacking this twat going to get anyone anywhere.
    He’s just another over paid dick doing his job and toeing the party line. Dave, as I like to to think of him, pulls the many strings.
    Furthermore Architect, if he is indeed a psychopath we’d better all watch out as unfortunately psychos are natures survivors.

    Also, how come you guys can time travel? You didn’t go to a Charlie Chaplin film recently did you??

    Nick

    November 2, 2010 at 11:43 am

    • Well please Nick, what do you suggest?

      How can we counter the misinformation and propaganda that Brokenshire churns out?

      Peter Reynolds

      November 2, 2010 at 11:51 am

      • I wish I knew the answer Peter, I really do. The only thoughts I can offer are constantly bombarding the various PR/Newsdesk departments of the media hoping that they bite. S.E.O on all campaigners websites to raise visibility. Find a credible celeb to raise the profile and be a front man/woman. This is a must with our celeb obsessed society.(NOT George Michael!)Have a dedicated PR exec wiggling into the likes of the One show. There are many, many intelligent and talented smokers out there as you know who, would probably help. A smear campaign will not work. We need to sell this ideal. We work from a point of educated understanding and tackle the problem diplomatically. Yes, we can under stand why so many fear the likes of cannabis, without the knowledge we have, we’d probably agree however, research by credible individuals has shown…. Anger and hate are the path to the dark side.. My first Star Wars quote ever I think.
        …I’m not proud of it!
        Someone like you should represent Prof Nutt?

        We also need to offer credible case studies of smokers.

        Here’s Bob, He’s successful, responsible and reliable… he’s smoked for a good 20+ years. He holds down his job and doesn’t break any other law etc. etc

        Get all the campaigner’s to co-ordinate joint surveys and research profiling users and how they are good citizens.

        You know the score.. Saachi??

        I have spent at least the past twenty years asking myself why is this supposed to be wrong. Surely all those fighters down the pub are the ones who are wrong, not me ?? I feel the frustration too. But, getting shitty about one puppet does not deliver the result or credibility that the campaign needs to be taken truly seriously.

        Nick

        November 2, 2010 at 12:17 pm

  6. I just watched the Inside Out report. Its such a sad situation. Those poor people

    Nick

    November 2, 2010 at 1:17 pm

  7. Just watched Inside Out too, as ever, thank you and well done all who stood up and made a damn good case for us!

    Jason (HomeGrown Outlaw)

    November 2, 2010 at 5:48 pm

  8. But has there ever been any logic regarding really serious issues such as Class A Drugs etc taken by ANY of the last Governments since 1945?

    As for America; well they introduced drugs in to the Army scene in the Vietnam War ! As if the average American needed encouraging in the first place.

    The Debt Collector

    November 2, 2010 at 6:25 pm

  9. If we’re discussing America and class A drugs; I think the biggest black mark to their name is the huge operation by the CIA in supplying crack to the streets.

    Jason (HomeGrown Outlaw)

    November 2, 2010 at 7:41 pm

  10. Like Jim I have a recent cannabis story which may also add fuel 2the fire.
    It ran front page of the wester gazette early Aug ’10 n it ran ova 2counties that I no of.
    I have used the gazette group as their reporters do have big balls n like u r not frightened 2print a contraversial story. They have done me proud 4 ova 12yrs now.
    Jim has a copy of my front page re my cannabis story. It is also on my “support mo fifield” wall that Carolyn Cameron set up on FB so we cud upload a little of the many articles written about me ova the past 12+yrs.
    I mite b v sick due 2 al my rare diagnosis. My very true story is heart breaking n spans 20yrs.
    I’m not alone in myquest 2b treated medically at face value, but wen u have rare disease ur sent home as a chronic pain problem.
    I wish I cud do as Jim has, but travellin crucifies me pain wise n due 2me reporting my london consultant 4gross medical negligence I have taken a huge kick back medically n repeatedly been denied primary, secondary n emergency medical care since April n am stil not bein treated appropriately 2this day. I cudn’t even dial 999 4 a heart attack I was flagged as 2violent, aggressive n abusive 2attend. My character totally defamed as I’m the complete opposite. I cudn’t even dial 999 4an ambulance 4 a heart attack no one wud attend.
    I have the proof r disability appeals system is corrupt n invades my clients human rites due 2directives made by antiquated drs who shud have retired many moons ago n not b sittin on tribunals and workin as emp’s. Some of the directives Ihave r abhorrant n my clients r willin 2go public n tel their stories.I have the proof in black n white.
    I have now set up my own charity with Carolyn Cameron’s assistance. She is a website designer n I’m a benefit/welfare advisor n advocate 4those withrare illness.
    We R very grass roots n I’m in the process of sourcing funding using local resources as we need a min of £5,000 b4 we can register with the charities commission.
    I live in Sturminster Newton n am a stones throw from u n Jim.
    Ur welcome 2contact me n c some of wot I have bin sitting on 4a longtime bidein my time.
    I have so much now n more comin in on a daily basis n have had at times ova 150-200 emails a day from other in the same boat.
    There r quite a few of us who use medicinal cannabis 4r rare incurable, untreatable illness’ documented as extremely painful.

    Mo Fifield

    November 7, 2010 at 6:05 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

