Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

Thank God For The Prince Of Wales

with 4 comments

Otherwise our country would be littered with vainglorious, egotistical self-monuments to architects –  individuals like Richard Rogers who persist in the delusion that they know best.

Site Foreman

A Cluster Of Carbuncles

Prince Charles speaks with wisdom, discretion and for the conscience of the Nation.  Those who understand the unique place that the monarchy holds in British society know that he speaks for a Britishness that transcends politics, fashion and the vicissitudes of architecture.  To use their own, pretentious expression, architects create our “built environment”, the very space in which we live our lives.  What other profession charged with such a grave responsibility has failed so miserably over the last century?  Where is the great architecture of the 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s and up to date? I can think of none but I can make you lists of the eyesores, slums and ludicrous mistakes that scar our towns and cities.

Thank God for the Prince of Wales!  To the architects, the planners, those lawyers and judges who know no respect, I say take them to the Tower!  Let them languish there until their own mistakes have crumbled into dust.  Then we might give them another go.  Until then let’s stick with the proven classics of design.  Innovation and experiment may be valid in modern art but in architecture there can be no equivalent of Damian Hirst or Tracy Emin.  They may thrive in private view but not in public.  No thank you!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] Thank God For The Prince Of Wales « Peter Reynolds [...]

  2. Peter – I entirely agree. The PoW has soul. Anyone who can survive 40 years of adulthood waiting for the job he has trained for to become vacant, and remain sane, deserves credit. The last PoW in the same position was Edward VII, whose achievements were few.

    I think the way Diana was treated was abysmal, but the PoW went through a long period of soul-searching, and looks to me like a man in tune with himself. Any man who can build a hermitage in his garden for meditation deserves respect in my eyes.

    The PoW loves georgian buildings – and I must confess, so do I. They are based upon the sacred mathematics of the ancient world, and they just look ….. right! There is something about symmetry and balance and harmony that pleases the eye.

    I happened to be passing through Dorchester some years ago, and had a look at it. I like the imaginative juxtaposition of building types and styles, but as much as I love older buildings, I agree with some critics that there is a bland-ness or banality about it. Maybe one cannot simply recreate “old” without copious use of recycled materiels, and a lot of love? However, time, trees, and lots of ivy will soon soften it.

    You can take a very ugly building, cover parts of it with ivy, and it becomes acceptable. In fact, I am suprised that buildings are not designed for ivy, with metal mesh attached, as it would be good for insulation and wildlife, as well as visually.

    I saw an art gallery in Poundbuy with two landscape watercolours by the PoW. I was aware that he was an artist, but had never before seen any of his work. I am no expert, but I know what I like, and these I liked. Why? They were works by an accomplished amateur artist – not beginner’s daubs by any means. The PoW clearly has an emotional connection to the landscape through his brush, and is able to convey all of the major elements of the landscape with an economy of effort. I can say no more than:- if I had no idea who painted them, would I want them for my wall? Yes, I would.

    I suspect that if the PoW had been both architect and builder at Poundbury, the result would have greater heart, but whenever you hand control to accountants and other professionals, the finished product will reflect their core values – to the detriment of society.

    Zen

    Zen

    July 21, 2010 at 6:59 am

  3. You and I both belong to the silent majority who value both Charles and Diana. I believe that, human frailty aside, she was truly as close to an angel as any being on earth. He will make the most wonderful King. he is thoughtful, intelligent, honourable and I will be proud to be his subject just as I am loyal to his mother.

    I live just a few miles from Poundbury and I recognise your concern about its blandness but really, I think it just needs to weather in, that’s all.

    The only issue on which I disagree with Prince Charles is GM. I think we have to look to new technologies to feed the world. There have to be safeguards, of course, but we and the technologies we develop are part of nature too.

    Peter Reynolds

    July 21, 2010 at 11:07 am

  4. Thank God For The Prince Of Wales!!! ))))

    bahay

    November 29, 2012 at 9:48 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

