Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

The World Cup Beckons

with 2 comments

The Big Match

I despise football.   I really do.  It’s everything it stands for – the appalling, vulgar display of tasteless, oafish, dare I say “chav” behaviour.  It’s a thin, insubstantial sport populated by overpaid primadonnas who behave appallingly and set a terrible example to youth.

What a pompous old git I am!

It’s a completely different thing isn’t it when it gets infused with the spirit of international competition?

It’ll never be rugby though,  so those that want to see the original, totally uplifting South African story go to the 1995 Rugby World Cup finals.   That was a similar occasion but with a proper sport.  In fact,  go to Invictus, the absolutely fantastic movie which tells the whole story.

I have been taken up by it though.  Africa has a wonderful exuberance and I was caught by the romance of the first match, delighted that South Africa managed a draw.   Then, who could resist a chance to see the French go down?   And go down they did!  Well, they scraped a draw against a 10 man Uruguay side when they were the favourites.  Lovely to watch!

So it looks like I’m hooked in.   There’s nothing else on anyway.  It’s been a welcome relief from the tribes of harridan, conspiracy-obsessed bloggers in the US.  As a Brit, a Welshman living in England, I am grateful to live in a country which has a sense of perspective.   We are not of Europe.  We are certainly not of either the Middle or Far East.  Thank God we’ve got more history than the Americans.  This is still the land of the free.  Nowhere else comes close.

And tomorrow Barack Obama is going to find out whose arse is “gonna get kicked”.  Then maybe he’ll mind his manners and remember who his friends are.

En-ger-land!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s going to feel like 1950 aaaaaaall over again this afternoon. Ah, sweet sweet victory for the Land of the Free and the Home of the Brave! Estados Unidos! Estados Unidos! Estados Unidos!

    Yo to the ho Baby

    June 12, 2010 at 7:23 pm

  2. Ha, well said!
    I got your link off @dam’s site. :)
    I don’t really follow sports of any kind. I go to my daughter’s baseball games and I suppose I *should* follow Man U because my family in England does. I do own a jacket with their name on it. :)
    But the thing I really wanted to comment on (I know, took me long enough to get here!) is the movie Invictus. What a wonderful movie that was!!! I agree.
    Have a great day!

    serenityunicorn

    June 12, 2010 at 7:38 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

