Peter Reynolds

The life and times of Peter Reynolds

I Weep For Jamaica

with 7 comments

Ocho Rios

The events unfolding in Jamaica are disastrous for the country, its reputation, tourist industry and economy.   They give an impression that is completely false.  In reality it is a wonderful place, full of kind, warm, generous people.  I was astonished on my first visit to find the countryside lush and green, rather like Cornwall or Wales and the people more friendly than anywhere else I have ever been.

I was very privileged to be introduced to Jamaica by a Jamaican.  It was no all-inclusive tourist resort for me.  There the poor Brits hunker down and never move anywhere.  They seem to believe that right outside the gates are a bunch of Uzi-toting crack dealers but it’s simply not true.  I’ve been back several times and I love the place.  I recommend Ocho Rios on the north coast of the island.

True, the murder rate is one of the highest in the world but it all happens in a very small area of Kingston.  The rest of the island is peaceful and probably safer than London.  I have been through the Tivoli Gardens and Trench Town districts where all the trouble is.  It’s not a good place.  You lock the car doors and windows and you don’t stop but it is tiny.  According to my memory it’s not much bigger than, say, Regent’s Park so it’s easy to avoid.

My Local

Undoubtedly at the root of these problems is high level corruption and I wouldn’t be surprised if that extended to US officials as well as Jamaican.  The cocaine trade is a huge curse on the country but while the world continues with its ludicrous, discredited policy of prohibition it will never solve the problem.  Drug laws support and encourage organised crime and corruption.   If we stay on our present course things will only get worse.

I weep for Jamaica and its wonderful people.  Without radical international action, I have no idea how this problem can be solved.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is a sad day for Jamaica. Many are weeping with you on this. We just wait for it to end. The politicians created the problem and now they will attempt to fix it. The politicians must end their relationship with the gang members. Every election they use these gangs to enforce their mandate and to garner votes.

    Corve

    May 27, 2010 at 1:27 am

  2. i have never been so proud to be a jamaican until i read this blog you wrote, i must say thanks to you and on behalf of the jamican people. we both can agree with many others who has visit the island can say its paradise indeed… as the jamaica slogan says..(once you go you know) peace brother ONE LOVE.

    Terrt Hayden

    June 15, 2010 at 11:50 pm

  3. Hi Peater, I dont know if You will remember me,I was introduced to you by Terry Hayden once when you were in jamaica my name is Basil Waite.

    You have said a mouth full. It’s only someone like you who has seen the real JAMAICA, adorned in all it’s beauty, and has shared the warmth the culture and generosity of it’s People, can truly appreciate the Jamaica that the tourist who are sequestered in the all inclusive hotels will never know.

    I agree with you.The problems that we are having are self inflected and influenced by external forces and corrupted Politicians. Who in order to satisfy their own greed and political agenda’s has divided the People into two hostile tribes namely THE Peoples National Party (P.N.P) and the Jamaica Labour Party (J.L.P) Who are perpetually at war over Scarce Benefit’s and Political Spoils, And has kept them uneducated and ignorant in order perpetuate their corrupt agenda.

    My friend until we meet again, as we say in Jamaica Walk good.

    Basil Waite

    June 16, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    • Of course I remember you Mr Waite, although I didn’t know your name was Basil!. Terry never stops talking about you and you are always “Mr” Waite. He respects you a great deal. I know he admires you enormously and I also know you have been a great friend to him. Thank you for that. Keep an eye on him for me now and make sure he behaves himself!

      Until we meet again.

      Peter Reynolds

      June 16, 2010 at 3:39 pm

  4. Your friend is in good hands and is well taken care of.He is getting on with his project and seems to loving it, he has breathe new life into it and going full steam ahead. I am looking forward to visiting the United Kingdom soon, just have some personal matters to attend to first, hope I will see you then. so until then. Take care and “Walk Good”

    Lord Basil

    June 16, 2010 at 9:41 pm

  5. Hi Peter (Pedro)Greetings, I guess you have heard that Christopher (Dudus) Coke, Has waved his his wright to contest the extradition request by the U.S.A. And instead has opted to be handed over to the U.S government. I am glad that he has decided on this option. I am hoping that his lawyers will advise him to seek a plea bargain in which case he will be able to spill the beans on the real masterminds behind his criminal empire, who were calling the shots.

    An article in the Sunday Observer news paper, says there are some businessmen in Jamaica who has in excess of us$89.9 Million Dollars in his bank account in the US. another has $7 Billion plus significant reserves in two bank accounts in jamaica.As a result at least three investigative arms of U.S law enforcement agencies are taking a close look at these individuals. And has singled out thirty more who they have identified as persons of interest. It is has been
    hinted that the wealth of three of these individuals could significantly reduce the national debt.These person’s of interest are under close scrutiny by U.S law enforcers.

    “As you should have observed no names were mentioned”
    WILL CHRISTOPHER (DUDUS)COKE be the answer? Until next time.
    Walk good My Friend

    Lord Basil

    June 25, 2010 at 5:09 am

    • I would guess that he has some interesting stories to tell but perhaps the US will want to keep him quiet too?

      There must be a vacuum in downtown Kingston now – a dangerous situation. I pray that it resolves itself peacefully.

      Peter Reynolds

      June 26, 2010 at 6:01 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

